We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
348
185
87
51
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
348
185
87
51
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre a family run hotel birr castle bunk beds lovely hotel bar food family break next morning leisure club couldn't do enough saturday night from start to finish well worth a visit keep up the good work one night stay wedding venue food was lovely
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 727 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2019

We were on a family day out in the area and ate in the bar in the County Arms Birr. A member of the family is coeliac so eating out can be tricky. The young waiter was extremely helpful. He explained what was Gf on the adults menu and when I asked about the kids menu he said he would go speak to the chef. On his return he gave my daughter a select of options, soup, potatoes, chips, bolognese, several different meat and fish to choose from. All our dishes were extremely tasty and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Had an overnight stay in this hotel on our way up through Ireland. The reception area is very welcoming as are the staff. We had a lovely room with a view over the garden. The bed was really comfortable. Our only complaint was the grouting in the bathroom left a lot to be desired which was a pity. Had we been staying more than one night I would have complained but it didn’t seem worth the hassle. There was a good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast and we really enjoyed it. All the staff were lovely.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_IrelandFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

great place to stay and staff was outstanding. great food and close to everything. pubs and beer was always flowing can not say enough about the rooms and clean and well maintained resturant and bar great too
.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Curious534357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

On Saturday, 14th April 2019 our Historical Society (52 travellers ) had breakfast and evening meal at The County Arms, Birr, Co. Offaly. Firstly I have to compliment the CHEF and the kitchen staff. The food was delicious and presentation first class. The managers and staff on duty in the morning and evening were absolutely wonderful and so professional, efficient, friendly and so very helpful. Judy and the girls at the front desk were lovely, friendly and very professional. The hotel was spotless and the facilities excellent.
Everybody on the bus agreed it was one of the best dining experiences since we started some years ago. Thank you all so much for making it such a memorable experience.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Had overnight stay with my husband. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.. bedrooms spacious, clean & contain everything we needed for overnight stay.Hotel staff are lovely. Dinner from the bar menu was lovely, & very reasonably priced. Breakfast was the highlight of our stay, requested from a menu and beautiful. Would highly recommend a visit to this hotel

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews