We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last weekend and were a little apprehensive based on some reviews. From start to finish we couldn't fault this hotel. Great welcome, lovely room, fantastically friendly staff and at a meal for 45 people on the Saturday night the most wonderful food, the most attentive staff and a few surprises like the amuse bouche, the sorbet and the petit fours. We'll definitely be back and we couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Tonopase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 663 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just back from a weekend stay in The County Arms, with a group of 43 people. A mix of business and pleasure. From my first contact all the staff showed unbelievable friendliness and professionalism. A big thanks to Grainne who assisted me with the group booking, and also to all the other staff who were brilliant. The restaraunt in The County Arms is out of this world. A number of our group described our evening meal on Sat 8th March, as the best they ever had. I have to agree. I will definitely be back. Well done everyone. JB

Room Tip: Make your reservations in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

was working on business near birr and stayed in this hotel. WOW . staff , food and price was really amazing.big thanks to Conor for helping me with his printer. got me out of a hole. already booked a return trip with family in easter. Willy B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilbertbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just back from a two night stay and cannot recommend the hotel enough, From first contact by email to check out i have to commend all the staff on exceptional friendliness and professionalism.
As we were a group of 8 adults and four children you may expect little delays but over the whole weekend we were looked after so well with excellent food and service from all. Mary Rose seemed to be everywhere we turned and always had a smile and a joke with explanations of menu choices and recommendations of things to do. Her manner and friendliness set the tone for all of the weekend. Even though the hotel was really busy all weekend the staff were never short of a smile or a can i get you anything. In short Great weekend enjoyed by all and sorry but we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nudy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just back from a relaxing break at this hotel. Staff very warm and welcoming. Hotel clean with good facilities. Food was excellent. Cannot fault this hotel also in a great location to the town centre. Overall a relaxing time spent here - great value for money would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We often stop here to eat with the kids and it is always very good. The hotel has a lovely lobby area and bar area. We were seated quickly and presented with menus & crayons. The kids menus have activities to keep them occupied. Not that we had to wait long, I had the lunch special of pork belly & my husband had the beef. Both were excellent, very well presented & plenty of veg & potatoes. The menu choices for children were very good and include half roast with veg & potatoes, fish & chicken to name a few. Our 3 had the children's brownies for dessert and I was sorry I didn't order one for myself! Staff very friendly and welcoming. We will definately be back may even stay overnight the next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MimiBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

stayed here Tuesday and Wednesday night with friends. The reception area was very good but it went downhill from there. rest of hotel was extremely dated and run down. bedroom was dusty and dirty and the hotel smelled of must. ate in the restaurant on Tuesday night where we were served a bad carvery type meal. breakfast the following morning was appalling. ate elsewhere Wednesday night. I wonder how this can be 4 stars. it is, at best a 2 star. Won't be back. Pull up your socks guys. ....

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sleepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.5 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
21.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: $117 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run 4* Hotels since 1962, located in the charming heritage town of Birr where a warm welcome always awaits you. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds and 6 bedrooms adapted for Wheelchair users. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant & Gardens, lively Bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Vintage Afternoon Tea, Walking & Biking Activity breaks , Gourmet & Girls Night breakaways. Check us out before you check in - www.countyarmshotel.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing