We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and hotel”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we just had a girly night here, and really enjoyed it. My friend had the massage and said it was really good, the pool area is very good too, the hot tub, could be a bit hotter but all else great. Dinner and breakfast was great too, lots of variety for breakfast and real cooked ham for cold meats love it!! Staff all very pleasant and accommodating, oh and the beds very comfie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    161
    73
    38
    47
See reviews for
210
149
17
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clare Island, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

we had a short family break here and were welcomed by friendly staff at reception. on arrival at our family room we were a bit disappointed on first impressions as it was fairly basic and not very welcoming. It was clean and spacious but had no wall decor, the bunkbed mattress springs could be felt, the tv was old and there were no kids channels although we did get a dvd when we asked for it. That was the only downside to the stay. However there was piping hot water on demand, the food and breakfast was lovely and the staff were all very nice. Leisure centre was very nice too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnicl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the county arms.The staff were incredible everyone from cleaners to reception waiters / waitresses .The pool was beautiful and the food was fantastic. We will definetly be heading there again on our next break . . . Lorraine millar county limerick

Room Tip: we ve stayed twice in the last few years both rooms were gret we heard minimal noise both times we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. Taken aback by how friendly and indeed helpful ALL the staff were and an element of fun added too. Everyone seems happy to be working here, which adds enormously to how welcome you feel. The teenagers in our group were kept happy when on discovering that their choice of desert was no longer available(malteser cheesecake), the manager gave them a sample of all deserts with a bag of Maltesers each thrown in haha Nice thought. Will definetly be returning here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deirdrelowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The green hotel looks lovely from the outside! However it was let down a little by a lack of maintenance indoors. No major faults but a lick of paint would stand it well. We stayed in a spacious family room which was very clean and in a quiet part of the hotel. Lunch in the bar was nice and breakfast likewise. The leisure centre was a treat for all, but let down by the showering facilities in both the ladies and men's changing rooms.

What stood out was the friendliness of all staff, you felt you could ask anything and it would be granted! My 6 year old daughter said it was the best hotel break ever!

I'm happy to recommend The Country Arms hotel to all families looking for a no fuss, no trouble break at excellent value!

Lotte Dannesboe

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotted123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahstrikes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Me and my young family were attending a wedding here on friday 25th october and I have to say absolutely nothing was a problem or was overlooked for us. My three children range in ages from 5 weeks to 4 years and the staff did everything they could to accomadate us in order for us to be able to relax and enjoy our stay. The room was very spacious and clean and the staff were the friendliest I have come across in long time. The hotel inside is a mix between old features with modern styling and is very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The food was absolutely top class. Overall I would definately stay here again for an occassion or just for a family break as the leisure club looked very clean and luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahstrikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a trip to this hotel with my family, Room was very spacious, with three kids, was great. Lovely people, very friendly staff. The problem with this hotel however, was we arrived on Fri. 25th. Oct, we met other family members and friends, a group of ten of us altogether, but there was a wedding in the hotel and there was nowhere to sit let alone get to the bar for a sandwich ! We had to leave the hotel to find somewhere else to get a bite to eat ,having just arrived !
When we returned from the other hotel in the town "Dooly's " which was lovely too I might add , there was a 21st. birthday party in the bar and again , we had nowhere to go, only to sit in the lobby, it was a battle to get to the bar for a drink and again nowhere for us to go !
On the Sat night then , there was yet another pary on, this time a 3oth. birthday party, again we spent the evening in the lobby !
We were very dissappointed that we, in effect spent our weekend in another hotel and in the lobby of this hotel. Why were the function rooms not used for these parties and why were the residents pushed out into the lobby, without even floor service ?
As I said, pity, because the staff are lovely and the Hotel itself is lovely with a nice garden and summer type house that the kids loved. I felt that we as residents were not a priority but an extra that's pushed aside for events. Sorry !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddy7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.4 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
98 reviews
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
23.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run Hotels since 1962. Unwind at the Springs Leisure Club & Wellness suites with luxurious spa treatments. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant, pretty gardens, lively bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Murder Mystery, Walking, Golf, Spa. 6 bedrooms adapted for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing