We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights.
A very nice hotel. The staff are friendly and attentive.
This is a big hotel but being family run it feels smaller and more personal.
The pool and spa facilities are a real plus.
We ate dinner one evening and the food was very very good.
The deserts are exceptional.
The breakfast is top notch and plentiful (except for the pancakes which are ok but not as good as everything else.).
We also ate lunch in the bar and that was bang on too.
On arrival our room was spotless.
A visit to the ladies public toilets is a must (The interior designer went to town here.)
Very happy to recommend this hotel.
I must warn you about the Guinness - It was so good I drank too much of it - Best avoided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dardun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 651 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had read reveiws about this hotel before we went, and the people that wrote them must have been somewhere else, and picked the wrong hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff and hotel were great, the staff in the bar were pleasant and helpful and the food was perfect. Even with a wedding on the Saturday night we were made to feel welcome in the bar and our orders taken with no problem. The room was large and warm, and on finding that the remote for the TV was missing, this was replaced within 10 min's. A nice relaxing weekend break, all thishotel needs is a town with a bit more in the way of shops and things to do around it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noddy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in August. We only stayed the one night as we were passing through on a bit of a roadtrip. Upon check-in there was a Wedding party in the lobby but the reception quickly checked us in. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was lovely and clean with great little toiletries. Upon realising that we had no remote control for the tv we called reception and they sent someone straight up with one. Later that night I could not get the shower to work so I called reception again and they sent someone up to turn it on. I think it was just very stiff or stuck! We ate in the bar and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The bar staff were friendly and the service was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was brilliant. There was a vast selection to choose from in the buffet and the cooked full Irish fry up was delicious! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lill-miss-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have now stayed here twice. The staff are very very friendly and professional. The rooms are large and clean and the hotel is spacious with wide corridors and open spaces. The pool is large by hotel standards and is a good place to relax. We ate in the restaurant and our evening dinner and breakfast was most enjoyable. I shall always be pleased to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nothing is to much trouble for the staff to make your stay very memorable and want your stay never to end. This is created by the management and the natural charm of all the staff, who make you feel you are the most important guest in this hotel. The food and drinks in the bar is plentiful and well priced. The restaurant is also first class.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

was here for a family wedding... staff were very helpful and did everything they could to make the day enjoyable. staff were very pleasant even in the early hours. there was no pressure to check out before 12, overall a very nice hotel and food was divine :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaybay778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Myself and my sister recently stayed at the county arms hotel. I was impressed with the georgian house theme and the foyer. The staff were very nice and friendly.

We both had a room each and it soon turned into a game of spot the difference.

The first issue was how dark my room was. There were no ceiling lights but instead floor lamps. My sister's room had one but mine hadn't. This was my first complaint.

The views of both rooms were poor - overlooking the swimming pool roof full with cigarette ends.

There were many other differences - her room had no remote, no footrester etc this was disappointing for a 4* hotel.

Another problem was the door handles - almost every door handle was loose! I was awakened one morning by another guest who could not get his door opened and had to change rooms!

Another morning I was awakened by the toilet which did not stop grumbling. This was really annoying. Also, I could not get the shower to work - it was a really difficult system to operate.

The carpets were very dirty with brown patches of dirt sticking to them.

The leisure centre was very nice and quiet with a small pool but very quiet. The sauna and steam room were very nice aswell.The lady running the pool/beauty salon was very nice and helpful.

The food was very nice but the menus were quite "different". There was a lot of sea bass which was quite unusual. The breakfast selection was good one morning but bad the next.

I would give this hotel and average rating. Not a 4 star rating in my view.

Room Tip: Front Green - only views that are attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.4 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
157 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
21.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
699 reviews
21.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: $89 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run Hotels since 1962. Unwind at the Springs Leisure Club & Wellness suites with luxurious spa treatments. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant, pretty gardens, lively bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Murder Mystery, Walking, Golf, Spa. 6 bedrooms adapted for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing