We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We held our 32 County meet up for small business in the County Arms hotel and I have to say it was perfect,to be greeted with Tea & Coffee and waited on hand and foot by the most polite and helpful staff made the event very special.Lunch was perfect and the rooms were so comfortable,crisp white bed linen.Our event involved over 100 people being on line and the wifi did not let us down. Thank you so much. We will be back as the location is so central & gardens delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebiH983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 633 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for a conference. I have to say the classic country house exterior hides a beautiful contemporary interior which is a surprise when you walked in, i was expecting worn carpets & leather couches. The staff are extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant was perfect. We didn't get time to use the leisure facilities but took a sneak peek - Wow I wish I had bought the swimming costume. Overall a 5 star experience, there was a large delegate there that day and it was handled with the wonderful quiet professionalism that only a great venue can provide.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola1Cahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice venue ,ok surroundings,appauling country hick service!!.Shame really,had a family wedding there and the only thing to complain about by all the guests was the rude and unhelpful staff.Mainly a porter ,who seemed to have managed to insult most of the guests at various levels young and old over 2 days.Wedding would have been nice there otherwise,but that 1 yes 1 member of staff seem to have managed to offenend most guests!What a shame for a nice type of hotel trying to do well.Couldnt possibly reccomend it to friends to get married there after that.It still leaves a bitter taste to all of us to this day.family wedding maared,because of ill trained staff,shame.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dolchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterLoughnane, Owner at County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Hi Dolchee
Thank you for your comments. I'm very disappointed with your comments though and I'd like to discuss them with you further becasue they're obviously very serious and could have a major impact on our business. As you probably know, we are very proud of the care we offer to all our guests. As a family-run Hotel for 50 years, we love looking after people, especially on their Wedding day and other significant family occasions. Only last Saturday we had a 90th, 80th, 70th and 60th birthday parties taking place in the Hotel and everyone had a great time - even the 2 funeral groups felt they had been looked after with dignity and respect. I'd really like to discuss this with you either in person or by email - I'll send you a direct message through Tripadvisor and I hope to discuss this with you further in order that I can conduct a thorough investigation. Thanks. Peter Loughnane, Family Member Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel is very friendly and well presented but there were a few things lacking. Our breakfast was a disaster. First off i ordered the pancakes as didnt feel like a fry but i was sorry. 3 of the smallest thinest pancakes ive ever seen. It wouldnt have fed my 4 month old son. So i asked to change for the scrambled eggs and bacon. Another mistake. A tiny cup of scrambled egg on an empty dinner plate with no bacon.. but i did get two human hairs in it tho so you know, swings and roundabouts and all that. After seeing that i wasnt hungry anymore, nor was my wife who opted for the fry which looked nice. The heating didn't work in our room but was fixed by someone after we complained. Food in the bar was nice for lunch but I was on the lookout for unwelcome hairs. Put me off a bit. Very friendly place but a bit more attention to detail would be welcomed. I probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deiserottweiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I booked this hotel with a coupon deal for 2 nights B&B family room with 4pm checkout. The room was very spacious with a double bed, two single beds and a bunk bed. The decor looked newly refurbished. The restaurant came highly recommend but we opted for the bar food which was excellent. The pool was warm and very clean, perfect for the kids. We liked the fact that the bar had lounge rooms just off it and a spacious lobby which is ideal if you have kids and want a drink. This hotel was very family friendly and had a good feel about the whole place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed here in October 2011, booked in the Presidential suite with my wife and 2 young children for a treat as we can't get abroad with the babies being so young. This obviously cost me alot more then the standard rooms so we were expecting great things for our 2 night stay.
Wasn't to be. First thing we noticed was stairs only with no lift access to the suites, ok no big deal but lugging kids and paraphenalia up and down all day is no fun and it was known in advance i'd kids with me as cots we're set up. Perhaps a family room at a lower price would have suited but when your on holidays you don't complain unless you have to.
Next thing was when we got into the room, there was no remote for the tv, i informed reception but theyd no maintenance man on that day and she offered me a one for all remote but couldn't get it till the next day- it never arrived.....i mean in the presidential suite we were up and down to the tv for our whole stay. Next thing was a noticeable smell of sewage coming from the main bathroom, i eventually located it as coming from the drain in the stand alone bath, i had to pour a good bit of domestos in and hot water to eventually get rid of it but it really left us feeling disappointed in our first night in the room. Other little things bothered me like loose tiles on the entrance to the bathroom, broken fittings eg toilet chain pull. If this was the presidential suite what were the standard rooms like? Or is it that this room is ignored till wedding etc?
I will say this the staff were brilliant, very friendly and service was class in the bar/restaurant/reception. The hotel is handy enough to get to birr town, maybe 5/6 minutes walk and the Leviathon telescope in Birr castle is an amazing sight! Hope it sorts itself out soon/does checklists on the presidential suites in future.

Room Tip: Family room for kids-lift access.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rccaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed recently as part of a group. Staff were totally attentive and friendly, facilities were perfect from room to leisure, breakfast was also fresh, plentiful and served with a smile. Many thanks for the great offer and care.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.5 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
153 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
21.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
686 reviews
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: $100 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run Hotels since 1962. Unwind at the Springs Leisure Club & Wellness suites with luxurious spa treatments. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant, pretty gardens, lively bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Murder Mystery, Walking, Golf, Spa. 6 bedrooms adapted for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing