We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaron House- Look No Further”
Review of Aaron House

Aaron House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron House
Ranked #11 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Aaron House has fine rooms and great food but the reason to stay here is the incomparable service of Betty and her husband Michael. Our car broke down on the way to Aaron House. Betty drove to get us and met us with hugs. Michael later drove us out to dinner and loaned us a cell phone to call for a ride back. Meanwhile, all that Saturday night and Sunday morning, Betty and Michael were trying to figure out where on a weekend to find us new tires and someone to repair the bent wheel (Thrifty rental was no help). On Sunday morning, Michael found a tire wholesaler who opened his store to sell the tire we needed, and Michael then waited outside the town church to track down another man who he knew had the equipment to mount the tire and repair the wheel. He paid both people out of his pocket first and insisted on mounting the repaired tire himself. Also, they loaned us a phone for calls we needed to make and accepted no money for the calls.
Betty and Michael represent the absolute finest in Irish hospitality and I would recommend that if your travels take you within 100 miles of Aaron House that you treat yourselves to their company- it will be the highlight of your visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2009

The rooms were very large, clean and the showers had good water pressure. Betty is an absolute delight and the house is wonderful. What a treat after a long day of driving. Beds are large and comfortable, breakfast was cooked nicely. It is amazing more people have not posted reviews on TripAdvisor for this house, this is one of the best places we stayed in our entire trip! If your trip takes you to Birr or Kinnitty you really won't be able to find a better place to stay in this price range than the Aaron House.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MiracleMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This B&B was absolutely amazing. The kindness of Betty Grimes and her family was so much more than my seven friends and I expected. Not only was the house itself clean, inviting, cute, and perfect for a relaxing stay, but the hospitality of its owners far surpassed our expectations. We stayed a mere two nights but by the end, we found it hard to leave. At least without a warm hug from Betty and doing what we could to show our gratitude. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. A great value for an amazing time!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awoster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Aaron House Guest House
My husband ,myself and three friends spent two weeks at Aaron House during the World Titles of Down the Line Shooting. I can not speak highly enough of Betty & Michael Grimes and their family. The hospitality was excellent with every whim catered for from food to information to services. The rooms were spacious and clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stirrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Just back from a couple of days attending a wedding in the castle @ Kinnity.

Hit gold with this B&B. Rooms were large clean and in excellent order.
Betty the owner was brilliant. Never intruding but always there to refill the coffee or to provide more toast when needed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Paulmccabe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We were looking around for a B&B near to Birr, Co Offaly and just chanced by Aaron House in Kinnitty. What a fabulous find! It is by far the best B&B we have stayed in and will definatley be back. Large clean rooms, everything we needed to make it a very comfortable stay. Beer, tea, coffee and soft drinks were available in the guests private lounge, the beer even being kept cold in a small fridge. The host, Betty and her husband were very welcoming and accomodating and even let us leave our trailer there for the day after we had checked out so that we could tour around during the day. The breakfast was excellant, again everything you could want and more and all beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sas401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuillaumeetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birr hotels
7.8 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
7.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.9 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
158 reviews
7.9 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Townsend House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron House

Address: Kinnitty Road, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range: $92 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aaron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing