We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Munster Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munster Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This is a great little hotel regardless of what previous people say.
It's typical of a small Irish town and if you want 5 star with great food served to your room go to Fota island about 40 minutes.
If you want friendly staff with old town atmosphere then drop in here.
Oh, I should say that the food is the best in the town!
Bill C.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank kilkenny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2008

I have just returned from visiting Bandon after a stay at the Munster Arms, OR as my sister liked to call it " THE MONSTER ARMS". We booked in and were made to wait while the manager stopped to chat on the phone whilst dealing with our payment. This was seemingly far more important than dealing with the
customers stood in front of him (With no apology).It also caused him to mess up our payment which was not realised until the next day. The hallways are very dark and finding your lock is not easy.Our room ,( NUMBER 55 )was dirty with toothpaste smears on the bed and wardrobe. Our radiator was broken so we had a plug in one with a broken wheel . The original radiator was not attatched to the wall properly but propped up except for the bottom pipe. the bathroom had a foul sewage smell that did not disappear even with the fan left on. There had also been a large leak in the room above as the stain was not covered up(Not nice to see when lying In bed).I unpacked my clothes and put them into the drawers but they came out of the drawers covered In dust.After a great night out we tried to arrange for food but were told there was no room service and ended up having to purchase peanuts as it was the only thing to eat so we went to bed hungry.The front desk is not well manned and the room keys are often left unattended. The surroundings were very shabby (torn wallpaper etc.) The list is endless but needless to say we wont be going back to this hotel again- ITS Scandalous they get away with charging so much for such a poor standard. Food Is good but EVERYTHING ELSE IS BAD!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kascem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I stayed here a while back. The location of the hotel is good.The price was expensive, considering the size, quality, age etc of this hotel. It was more expensive than several new , modern, larger hotels i have stayed in this region. The hotel rooms are not of a standard one would expect for a hotel. Initiallly, the first impressions are goods, the reception and bar look modern. However, the upstairs rooms are old. The furniture is old and worn. The room i stayed in was very small, and i didnt have much room. Also, the heating did not work in my room, the radiator heater was about 50 years old, I asked for a new room with heating, but initially i was offered a plug in heater instead, eventually i was given an even smaller room, but the heating did work there. The breakfast room was modern and the food was good. Overall, i would not pay the same price to stay here again. There are many hostels with private rooms that would have a higher standard and only at a fraction of the cost. however, the location is good, the bar is nice, and i have eaten here and the food is good. Really, a nice place to visit, so long as you dont stay overnight here.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jonniemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting pals. Initially things looked promising. The lobby is fine and the check in staff were friendly. We went up to our room (no lift so be ready to lug your own cases up the stairs). Beyond reception things get a bit iffy. We got to our room it was pretty small but had a double and a single bed. There was old wall paper that was coming off the wall. The carpet was dirty and rolling in places. The room furniture was old but not in a nice quaint way. Ho Hum says I. The bathroom was tiny and old (you'd be ashamed of it in a crummy bedsit). It was clean though. The lock didn't work either. Anyway we went out and met friends etc and came back later that night. It was pretty late and soon realised that we couldn't sleep because the cistern of the toilet was constantly filling and emptying and the noise was awful. We went down to the porter (who was quite rude earlier in the night) He managed to get us into another double room after initially saying none were left. This was however a smoking room and stank...stank of cigarettes. It was a better quality room though still not great. The bathroom door again did not lock and the shaving light didn't work. The carpet was again dirty.
We noticed several other things that were unappealing. On the 2nd floor landing a bunch of dirty glasses and beer bottles were just left on a window sill for 2 days. The linen for the rooms was left in the corridor in a big pile.
The biggest gripe I had was the cost of the room. 100euro per night for this shambles! When you consider the value for money available elsewhere this is a disgrace.
Do not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerrymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

My girlfriend and I booked in here for 3 nights (August 10th-12th) as we were attending a wedding in a nearby town. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in very promptly. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing and every member of staff was so friendly and couldnt do enough to help us. The management of the hotel have the most friendly staff and should be very appreciative of them because the guests appreciate them (especially the girls on breakfast duty on these mornings!).

The only bad thing I could say about the hotel is that the hallways are very dark and it is quite awkward getting your key into they keyhole (even when sober). A bit more light over the doors would make it so much easier.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kennhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2006

We recently took a weekend break to The Munster Arms in West Cork and enjoyed it immensly. The newly refurbished reception and bar are so inviting and the staff are amazingly friendly. It wasn't even that expensive. We found it to be the perfect stop on the gateway to West Cork

7  Thank Aoibhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank Rafa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Munster Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munster Arms

Address: Oliver Plunkett Street, Bandon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Price Range: $114 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Munster Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munster Arms Cork
Munster Arms Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing