We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disaster” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munster Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Munster Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Do not stay here it's a joke. The lady/rude human was the worst I've come across and don't get me wrong ive interailed and slept in lots of cheap hostels never mind hotels and she was the worst. Our room was freezing radiators were turned to off and the air con was off too. Without a doubt the worst hotel
I've been in in ireland. But every cloud has its lining.....location is good and Bandon is a good spot to have a good session

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jolough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    6
    11
    21
See reviews for
14
19
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Never stayed there but been to various functions there. Since renovations, its a nice place who does a function nicely.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishtourerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Terrible hotel but couldnt find anywhere else at short notice. Rooms are old fashioned, badly decorated and carpets, curtains and bed linen leave a lot to be desired. When we complained about the standard of accommodation they dropped the price from 90 euro to 50 euros for the one night we stayed there. On a good note however the breakfast the next morning was excellent and served in a friendly manner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

you will find the people friendly and relaxed, but my advice would be to find a b&b for less money, less noise and better decoration. our back corridor second floor room (72) was awful, well if your a sixtys child you may well feel like your re-living that childhood. ( i am sure the television was bought of the local crackhead )
very very basic was our box room, which incidently was ontop of the local night club, (wasnt a problem for us lot but you may want to considered this in your plans). We did try and play hide and seek in the room once, but unless you paint yourself the same colour as the walls you have no space to hide and will lose very quickly.. Food was excellent and the breakfast was filling. people were friendly. Bandon is a lovely town just the hotel lets it down.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrlazyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

The staff are friendly but there are some fawlty towers type aspects. They don't provide any bath towels - only small hand towels, which the entire party found quite irritating. One of my colleagues asked for an alarm call on our first morning, but they never rang him and he had to go to work without any breakfast that morning. They promised him that they would certainly ring him the next morning, but they failed him again. After that he gave up on them. The carpets and decor in the corridors was quite tatty, but my bedroom seemed fine, and the bathroom was pristine. The room cleaning was very good. The hotel is in a central location, but it is quite a rowdy area. We witnessed or heard several disturbances of the peace at night time. The rooms in the front of the hotel suffer from noise from the street, and my room at the back suffered from noise from something like a fan extractor on the back roof. Some rooms also suffer from noise from the hotel bar, especially at weekends. The food was fine - nothing exceptional but fine. But there is a super Italian resteraunt a few doors up from the hotel on the same street. The reception desk was usually not manned and it could take a while to find someone. But like I say, the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fachtna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We traveled to Bandon, Ireland from our home in Pebble Beach, California in order to be close to our cousins in Cork City and Newcestown.
The friendly desk clerk pointed out immediately where we could park our rental car safely and free.
We were in room number 86. The spacious, clean room has plenty of closet space as well as a great view of Bandon and Oliver Plunkett Street with 4 + pubs within a hop and a skip from the Hotel. The newly renovated bathroom was supplied daily with plenty of towels, a hairdryer A N D a beautiful JACUZZI Tub.
The generous sized breakfasts were served with a beautiful smile by lovely young ladies each morning.
On the last day of our visit, we hosted a large dinner party for all of our newly found cousins. The portions were most generous and everyone really loved the atmosphere, the food and the courteous service. Too bad that Nora, who had served us during previous meals at the Munster Arms Restaurant was off that day.
We certainly shall return to this hotel during our next visit to Bandon!!
The Ryans, John J. and Verena

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anerevnayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2008

We where surprised to be greeted by the Hotel Owner as he announced himself. He started to deal with us at reception and just left without excusing himself. We stood around for a good 5 to 10 minutes feeling like we where in faulty towers waiting for Basil.
Then some other member of staff came by and we had to stop and ask them what was going on, (at this time I felt like leaving but we where late for an appointment already). The member of staff quickly helped us out and we settled in for the night in the worst hotel that I have ever seen.
Food was good and staff friendly except for the owner.
I demanded an apology from the owner the next day when I bumped into him and he told me off in a very rude manner to which I shall not write here. I have never been so insulted in my life.
Needless to say I left immediately.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — The Hotel Owner then the Hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MJP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
4.8 mi away
Glebe Country House
Glebe Country House
#1 of 2 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.5 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
9.7 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munster Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munster Arms

Property: Munster Arms
Address: Oliver Plunkett Street, Bandon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Munster Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munster Arms Cork
Munster Arms Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing