We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Market Bar

The Old Market Bar
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited here a couple of weeks ago on the recommendation of a friend and we weren’t disappointed.

Someone has put a lot of time and thought into making this place a cosy retreat from, given the day that was in it, the rain soaked streets outside. I love the wood burner and the old bike that hangs over it, the bar is well thought out and it has a brilliant wine selection… always a massive bonus!

We couldn’t fault the food, it was fresh, plentiful and really good value and the staff were lovely. The only downside was that we couldn’t stay longer and work our way through the wine menu – next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueSueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
“Loved this bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Absolutely loved this bar! With a few friends on a Saturday night we headed out to The Old Market bar in Bandon, a lovely modern/country style bar. We had such
a great night with good music and a perfect atmosphere for a Saturday night. Really great value for the cocktails €6, I have to highly recommend the Nespresso.. Just divine!
I will defiantly make it a point to visit next time I’m in cork as I have heard the food is delicious! Over all a definite thumbs up!!! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orlaighf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon,co Cork
1 review
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in this step back to the good old days.

Lovely warm homely atmosphere.

Excellent food with fantastic value.

Had to wait a few minutes for a seat but that's a good sign also.

Marian

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghfdtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great craic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic pub! Perfect for a cosy tasty meal in front of the fire or a great night out! The staff are really friendly and there is a great atmosphere and a great range of music and themed nights etc. Really enjoyed their Halloween fancy dress party! Can't recommend it highly enough! Will definately be going back soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NimoKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice night. The Jd was excellent. Nice young crowd.
One problem the speakers were too low and my girl friend banged her head going out to the toilet.the management should put the speaker above head height or out of the way beside the fire place.
Over all excellent. Well done lads. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Market Bar also viewed

 
Bandon, County Cork
Bandon, County Cork
 

Been to The Old Market Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing