We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Pricey!”

Poachers Seafood Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ate here with some friends at Christmas and was delighted with our meal. The place was busy enough but the staff were efficient and friendly enough. I had heard good reviews about the place and was not disappointed. I had the steak for my main and it was superb! My friend and I shared a desert of a chocolate brownie which (being a chocolate lover) I was a little disappointed with as it was a bit dry, however it was still pretty good and a good finish to the meal. The only complaint, if I could call it a complaint, was that it was a bit pricey and so I would not go there regularly but will return perhaps for a special occasion. The place is nice but as it was a busy night we felt the place was a bit cramped. Can't wait to go back again and perhaps try some seafood this time! Bathrooms were lovely too (which is v. important).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    77
    19
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“chocolate tappas..mmm”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

always a good meal, always busy so booking recommended.
crab cakse and choloclate tappas just delicious, always look forward to it for a treat..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it - had planned to return but got diverted”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

OK, dropped in while on the road - to get lunch one day. It was very busy but a table was available in short order. My family and I had a variety of dishes, all were excellent and we were impressed with the quality and speed which we were served. Staff were competent and very friendly, food was excellent. I was very impressed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beer_Club_for_Men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the starter Tapas selection alone!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of eating here lately, the starter Tapa selection is worth the visit alone. The seafood is as you would expect in West Cork just excellent, I had the Hake also and the deserts are very tasty as well. Its a bit pricey but we will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch and Dinner venue”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Quite often eat lunch or early dinner here. Food and service is very good. Not the cheapest but always guaranteed excellent meal. Dislike sitting near door as it gets chilly and draughty when door opens and closes. Desserts are delicious. Meal highlight ;-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poachers Seafood Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bandon, County Cork
Bandon, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Poachers Seafood Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing