We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Upon arriving we met a wonderful Host who welcomed us with open arms. We arrived earlier then expected, but that did not matter he showed us to our rooms and offered us anything we needed. The accomadations we more then we expected. Very clean and welcoming. I would recommend these accomadations to anyone. Thank you David & Doreen Walsh we really enjoyed staying with you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee43289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for The Tides B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 419 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

I arrived in Ballybunion on that day, I am an oversea member at Ballybunion Country Club. I usally stay at Cliff House but CH was closed for the winter. On my way out of town, I noticed Tide Guest House with Flags waving I decided to stop. I was welcome by David, the owner who made me feel very comfortable, he offered me with a beautiful suite. I also met his wife who recommned me to go to Ballybunion CC for dinner. The room is very comfortable, clean and beatifully decor with a nice of Ballybunion. For breakfast, I asked Dave for Oatmeal instead of Traditional Irish breakfast, he cooked that for me and come with plenty of fresh fruits. I felt like I'm in my own home, listened to Dave telling the story about Ireland. I did not feel any sense of urgency to have to check out. They are very freindly, reliable. I also asked Dave to find a good caddy for me, he did so. I'll definitely go back to Ballybunion and stay at Tides Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

David planned our trip to Ireland from Dublin to Killarney on very short notice and everything worked out perfectly. He had been recommended by friends who had the same experience. His attention to detail and ensuring that his clients have a wonderful experience is his first and only concern . We stayed at 5 different places in our 11 days , including the Tides Guesthouse , and all were wonderful and as David described . there were no surprises . He went to every end to see that our experience was wonderful , including taking us out on Ballybunion himself . I could not recommend a trip planner/ advisor and host more highly . Thank you David for everything !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douginireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed here one night in October. I booked directly thru the owner. I had read some wonderful things on here and was expecting a lot. Apparently I had a not-common bad experience.When we arrived, we were one of only two rooms booked on the property, yet the owner was not aware of how long we were staying. As well, he failed to respond to my emails regarding finding dinner reservations after a long drive and an evening arrival. The owner had booked my spouse to play a 4-5 hour round of golf at 9am the date of departure but never bothered to mention that they have a 10:30 am checkout time!! I was forced to check out and sit in the lobby of the local golf club because I was not even afforded a late check out since the family had "vacation plans". This seemed surprising as he was not sure upon check in if we were staying one or two nights? Obviously a last minute decision due to our brief stay. A shame as we probably would have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

It was around 8 PM and we were tired when my friend and I decided to stop for the night in Ballybunion. We had been recommended to The Cliff Hotel, but after looking at a room there, we decided to keep looking. We rang the door at The Tides and were welcomed by David, the most gracious host we me our entire trip. He gave us a tour and showed us a couple rooms. The rooms are very big, modern and well decorated. The beds are comfortable, the towels are thick. The hotel is about a 2 minute drive from town and 5 minutes to the golf course. I use Trip Advisor often in my travels, but have never felt compelled to write a review yet. This property, and especially the professional, warm attitude of the proprietor David was a great, lucky experience that I needed to share.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Go to this place. You'll have a lot of laughs but no complaints at the Tides. The room are spotless, great bathroom/showers (Yanks will know what I'm talking about), great breakfast and the best bed in Ireland. After a night flight to Shannon, 18 at Lahinch, and a bit of a drive, when we where greeted at the Tides by a contented golden retriever, we knew we had picked the right place. David and Doreen Walsh have it right and went out of their way to make us welcome. We were four golfers and the Tides was perfect for us. Two large rooms with all the amenities of a Hyatt. Quick ride to town and to Ballybunion. David also flawlessly handled all our golf accomodations around Ireland. When we go back, and we will, the Tides and Ballybunion are on the itinerary.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agoodpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is truly the "Ritz Carlton" of B&Bs -- but at a very reasonalbe price. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. They even had a pants presser, microwave, and wine cooler! The queen size bed was to die for -- so comfy. There was a large screen TV plus sofa and chair in the room, and a vibrating chair in the main floor living room. The breakfast was varied and delicious. We cannot say enough good about The Tides -- they do not get any better.

And our host, David, who is an avid and rather good golfer himself, managed to get us a resupply of golf balls for our use at the magnificent course of Ballybunion. New golf balls in Ireland are about 2 to 3 times the price of them in the USA -- so bring a lot or ask David to restock you.

Free parking, internet access if you do not have your own PC, free wi-fi -- what more could one want!~

We would recommend this B&B to ANY of our friends -- no matter what social class they are in. This place is awesome.

This B&B is about 2 minutes from town and from the Club House -- contact them in advance for directions as they are off R 553 (the road to Listowel).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Astor B&B
The Astor B&B
#9 of 21 in Ballybunion
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $113 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing