We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guesthouse”
Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Tides Guesthouse. Hospitality was second to none.
David was a great host and we really enjoyed his entertaining storytelling abilities.
Breakfasts were 5 star especially the Bacon and Pancakes. He even heated up
some beans for Geraldine, and called her Mrs. Beans after that!
Our room was so comfortable and clean. Beds are very comfortable and we had a
great nights sleep.
We loved Ballybunion and its Champagne Air, Beaches and Cliff walks.
We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Eliza,

I was waiting on this one as I had a feeling it was a coming to TripAdvisor !
Mrs Beans indeed - Eleven years of Doing B&B and having a four Star menu to offer our guests and she the first one to ask for beans in the morning...... as I said Geraldine came to Ballybunion for her Beans........
It is always great to meet such lovely people who despite what life trows at them can smile back and have a laugh... The mornings at the Tides are funny at times and I personally enjoyed having fun with the two of ye.....

There is only one thing ye have to come back !!
We loved Ballybunion and its Champagne Air, Beaches and Cliff walks.
Is what Ballybunion is all about.

Thank you both so kindly for taking the Time to post such a glorious review on TripAdvisor.

I think it was us that was lucky to find the right two of you.

Sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for The Tides B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Fabulous guesthouse with the perfect host in David. Most welcoming and friendly. Very high standard in room. Really comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom equipped with everything one would wan.t Everything about the place was great and hope to return sometime. Better than most hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hello Eileen from Tipperary,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.
I read your review and the very best part is the returning to the Tides In Ballybunion say it all.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and thanks a million once again.

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We pulled into the Tides in the early evening with no reservations and not knowing what to expect. We now can’t wait to schedule a return golf vacation. The hospitality and the cleanliness of the Tides were the best of our two week vacation across Ireland. With David’s help we also had a chance to play golf. If you plan on going to Ballybunion to play golf, I strongly recommend you book your stay at the Tides and talk to David about your plans prior to arrival, they will take care of you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Tom from Kentucky,

I think we were the lucky one's that in passing the Tides Guesthouse you took a chance from the look outside the place. It was our pleasure to meet such lovely people as yourself and your good lady wife and writing such a review on TripAdvisor for the world to see does wonders for our business indeed.
“Irish Hospitality + Excellent Accommodations” is some heading and the glorious recommendations in fairness it was a pity you did not drive into the Tides some years ago I have tickets to the Ryder Cup in Kentucky, USA.

Our sincere thanks to you both

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a great place to stay for a golf outing to Ballybunion. David was helpful and responsive as we organized our stay. He carefully obtained gluten free bread to accommodate one of us. The rooms are large, very clean, and comfortable. The bathrooms are much nicer than your average bed and breakfast. A very high value find!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notallwhowanderarelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Stratford , Connecticut USA,

I read your review with some pride and we thank you for posting same on TripAdvisor.
What a Title : “Clean, Accommodating, Good Breakfast”
To know in advance of the Gluten Free Bread then its easy to organize. We have learned from other guests and it nice to look after people they way we like to be looked after ourselves.

Your comments about the Tides are warm, and inviting to other guests looking to stay in Ballybunion. I can only hope they take your advise and sincerely thanks a million for same.

David Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you haven't yet added Ballybunion to your Ireland itinerary, do it now!!! Ballybunion is an amazing town to stay the day & evening in. What made our stay more grand was our time at The Tides Guesthouse!! The home, location & hospitality were above par of most B&B's! The cleanliness is immaculate! The views from the home and rooms just beautiful! The comfortable atmosphere and conversations, incredible! The home itself is spacious and welcoming. A definite MUST to stay at! We look forward to again visiting Ballybunion and will be staying at Tides Guesthouse once again! Thank you!! The Bush's

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Susan from Florida,

It was a pleasure to have lovely rouges as yourselves stay with us in the Tides Guesthouse Ballybunion. The Comments of A definite MUST to stay at! says it all to be fair !

Anybody looking at your review would give the Tides a chance in their booking reservations.
A Title of Amazing made Doreen and myself smile with some pride and for that we thank you both from the bottom of our hearts.
We are so lucky to have met such lovely people stay with us who enjoy the company, love the banter. The Tides is where you relax and get look after !

Sincerely to you both till we have you back again

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at The Tides Guesthouse for one night, but it was a night to remember. It is comfortable, clean, and the food is great as is the location. I must admit, as someone with relatively high standards, I was not expecting my experience to at The Tides to be as great as it was, and it was exactly that, great.

5/5 Would definitely stay again. If you're off to Ballybunion for a weekend of golf, sea, whatever, The Tides should definitely be of interest to you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Frank from Limerick,

In fairness we did get a kick out of reading your review ! A man of high standards came to our humble home and enjoy the stay above and beyond the exceptions is what we strive every morning to achieve in looking after our guests.

5/5 full marks is such a generous and glowing review by yourself Frank that will warm the hearts and minds of Doreen and myself over the winter mounts as we review all the posted reviews on TripAdvisor. We are therefore so thankful to you for sharing this review for the world to see.

Sincerely our thanks till we meet again

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a wonderful place!! Dave & Doreen greeted us warmly upon our arrival, and we regretted, immediately, that we only were booked for one night. Our rooms (5 & 2) were spotless and spacious, and Dave told us (and gave us some discount vouchers) about local activities and restaurants - which was very helpful. A must see are the Cliffs of Bromore (I think they are prettier than the Cliffs of Moher) - which are a short drive from The Tides. If golf is your passion, Dave has the connections!! Our Irish breakfast was yummy, and we honestly hated to leave!! If you are in this area, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanciA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Nanica from Florence,

I am delighted to see such a well worded review coming about on TripAdvisor.
I read with delighted that you regretted only booking one night at the Tides so let other beware and take notice here !!!!
From the Cliffs of Bromore to the passion of Golf you have the right place in Ballybunion its called the Tides Guesthouse !
As the evenings are getting shorter and a few pints come my way this review I smile upon and remember fondly the guests from Florence.....

Sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Astor B&B
The Astor B&B
#9 of 21 in Ballybunion
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $113 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing