We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini break”
Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Myself my husband and our little Yorkie visited The Tides Guesthouse in spring this year. We were treated like in 5star hotel. Our room was very nice and quite even we were facing main road. Nice surprise when we went for our breakfast. We could choose from a menu aswell fruits and yoghurts. Would love to come back to Ballybunion when we need another break from busy work schedule. Lucy+Brian+Max

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hello Lucie , Brian & Max,

The Mini Break is what its all about these days. A simple get away to unlock the stress and relax in a hideaway of what you folks like doing best.

It was a pleasure to look after all three of you and we will await the return once again.
Thanks a million for posting a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Breakfast is the one of the ways we get to say thanks to our clients for the Business.
Helps keep the show going so therefore we are delighted that you have experience the delights of having a choice of four hot dishes from the Kitchen while the selection of fresh fruits and Yogurts and cereals are available to choose from.

Sincerely

Doreen And David Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for The Tides B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 418 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

I'm not one to write a review but in this case the second I walked through the door I knew I just HAD to write a review of the Tides as it is just so beautiful. I have always been wary of B&B's due to bad experiences in the past, but the Tides has changed my view!

The guesthouse is spotlessly clean and impeccably decorated. The food is delicious and David and Doreen are just so friendly and helpful! Excellent value for money!

Will definitely be returning!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hello Sarah,


What a heading for as review no more one could ask !
“Would Recommend 100%”

From the Hurling County Of Tipperary to the Kingdom of Kerry I am delighted to see the last part of the review - Ye be returning....

What more can be said after that only our sincere thanks for posting such a glowing review on TripAdvisor.

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this b and b.david and doreen made us feel really welcome.spotlessly clean and good size room .breakfeast superb .we strongly recomend it to any one staying in this area.feels like you are staying with friends .

Room Tip: Room at front
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Telty,

Reading your wonderful review and the kind comments about the Tides Guesthouse make this job very well worth while.
It a small way the visitors we have here become friends very fast and love to return to where they were made feel and welcomed right from the very start.

Thank you so kindly for posting such a review ion TripAdvisor and thanks for the strong recommendation.

Sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Walshes get innkeeper of the year in my book. They were wonderful from day one, offering to set up tee times, dining reservations, offering tips for touring, etc. They made us a wonderful breakfast made to order, even giving us chargers for our equipment because we left our adapter behind. The rooms were VERY comfortable, showers with wonderful pressure and temperature.

HIGHLY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Kristen,

What a review and to post this on TripAdvisor is a blessing indeed for our upcoming visitors to Ballybunion I hope will take note.
Inn Keeping of the year I only get a swelled head reading such comments and our sincere thanks to you both. I know that you had a great time in Ballybunion with Bromore Cliffs and dinner in town on the two nights was outstanding so indeed the time to tell others is now !

It was our pleasure to have you with us and I can only hope that in a small way we added to your Ireland Experience in your travels to our shores. Take care of yourself and thank you both.

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent last weekend in the Tides guesthouse in Ballybunion, and would recommend the guesthouse to anyone. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The breakfasts are really nice. You don't have the feeling that you are intruding on somebody else's home like you do in some B&B's. And if you get bad weather like we did, there is great water pressure in the showers to warm you back up after you get back from your walk on the beach :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieM_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Charlie for the Rebel County of Cork,

What a review to post to TripAdvisor and we are indeed so grateful to you both for doing same.
The Weekend get away is what it is all about here in Ballybunion if you can get away at all.

The room comments are a delight and yes we have taken great care to ensure that the Hot Water and Water pressure for the showers is high class , refreshing the body with the Spa soaps, showers and gels to prepare you for the nights adventures ahead.

It was our delighted to have you folks and I hope that the Rebel County visitors will call and visit us more ofter in the summer days a coming.

Thanks a million

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can see that the owners take very good care of the house on every detail. David knew a lot about the area and gave us great recommentadations. Our minisuite was in fact a maxisuite. Very nice, spacious, warm and cosy. We will be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ursu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Hello Ursu82 from Dublin, Ireland.

Reading your review this late at night only brings a smile ...
Lovely Guesthouse - And I be back in the one review what more can you asked for or look for !

To post same on TripAdvisor is indeed a big help to our upcoming Visitors and our sincere thanks to you both for doing same.

Our Master Suites are indeed the way we love to travel and be relaxed and looked after.

Thanks a million

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent B & B, The owners are very friendly and could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay. Spotlessly clean luxurious rooms. Slightly too far to walk to the town but a good location otherwise.
Excellent breakfast menu also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Hello Chris from Naas,

Thank you so much for posting such a great review on TripAdvisor and your lovely comments of how clean the house is. Glad you enjoyed the rooms and the Breakfast is all part of the experience.

Till we see you folks away for another weekend in Ballybunion !

Sincere thanks

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Astor B&B
The Astor B&B
#9 of 21 in Ballybunion
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $107 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing