We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Irish Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Irish Experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a beautiful, comfortable and companionable place. We loved our room. It was a perfect location for golf at Ballybunion. And the owners, John and Joan O'Connor were just fun, interesting people. John introduced Len to Irish Whiskeys he'd never tried (all the while giving us the history of the Country House and the political climate of the area). When we came back from exploring Ballybunion at night, John and Joan invited us to sit and chat about all sorts of issues Irish. For me, the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
36
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff at Kilcooly's made our stay quite comfortable... the accommodations, food and location were ideal. Although we don't get "across the pond" from Canada that often, if we do get the opportunity, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our 2nd stop after Kinsale on our golf trip was 3 nites in Ballybunnion. Stayed here on 2 other trips. John & Joan O'Connor are warm friendly owners who work very hard to make your stay a pleasant one. Upon arrival we were upgraded with our rooms which are neatly decorated and very peaceful and clean. We were served breakfast each of the 3 mornings at the time we requested. They served a variety of juices, coffee, tea ans cooked fresh hot breakfast for each of us. Dinner MUST be started with the seafood chowder (I repeat must be) We had it each of the 3 nites, ans I had it over linguine pasta one nite as my dinner. Brian behind the bar as well as a server is tops with service and personality. I do hope John & Joan appreciate him as we did. I do not hesitate to refer you stay here, well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a group of 9 for dinner at Kilcooly's Restaurant on May 10, 2013. Service was very good and the menu provided everybody in our group with some good selections. Would recommend this restaurant to anybody traveling in Ballybunion. The same group at lunch at Ballybunion Golf Club earlier that day (where Kilcooly's provides the service) and had a good meal there as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Kilcooly's was a great place to come back to after an unbelievable day of golf. It is ideally located for Ballybunion golf as well as other tremendous courses. Great rooms, pub and service. Access to active nightlife steps away. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Kilcooly's Country House is the perfect place for a comfortable, friendly and relaxing stay. We were only in town for three nights but it felt like home. The entire staff was wonderfully friendly and accomodating. The rooms were very clean and the pub and restaurant were perfect after a day on the links. I hope I have an opportunity to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our group had a great experience at Kilcooly's. Very clean and with ample space for double occupancy. Inviting bar/restaurant. Great service and very accomodating to our large group. Highly recommend for golf groups!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
162 reviews
8.9 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcooly's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcooly's Country House Hotel

Property: Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street | Kerry, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcooly's Country House, formerly known as Iragh Ti Connor. John &; Joan O'Connor invite you to relax in their luxury country house. The 19th-century building has recently been refurbished to the highest standard with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilcooly's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing