We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would recommend to a friend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend in Kilcooleys Country House in Ballybunion. Its located in the mainstreet of Ballybunion, Food was gorgeous, staff lovely & polite!! Is walking distance to ballybunion beach where i did surfing lessons and is a 2min walk from clubs & pubs!! Food in the hotel was gorgeous had breakfast and dinner for the two days, staff were polite and helpfull. Rooms were warm, clean and well furnished!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed two nights at Kilcooly's Country House in Ballybunion as the guest of John and Joan O'Connor. It's located right on Main Street, and close to the golf course. John was very accommodating, asking us what our starting time was, and getting up early to serve us breakfast himself, before a great day of golf at Ballybunion Golf Club. Ate a large portion of ribs downstairs the first night, and a fine meal at the clubhouse (which John also manages) the next night. Got a good break with the weather. It had been a terrible summer- John said his daughter had told him "Dad, did you hear, summer is going to be on a wednesday this year." Thanks John for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our stay was booked through a travel agent. So we had know idea what kilcooly's would be like. We were pleasantly surprised with a large en suite rooms. Clean and nicely decorated. Staff was. Very helpful. John and Joan were great hosts with attention to detail. We ate dinner both evenings in the pub. The food was good Irish fare.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is well located if you wish to stay in downtown Ballybunion. It's got plenty of character, but some might consider it a bit old. Upstairs rooms require the use of creeky stairs. Our room which faced mainstreet was a bit noisy. Free wifi was a nice perk. Breakfast consisted of a cold breakfast bar with cereal, breads & fruit. Also included was the traditional full Irish cooked to order breakfast. The owner was very friendy. The hotel is about a mile from the Ballybunion Golf Course. There are plenty of places to eat within a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnyjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Awesome property, with very comfortable rooms and an excellent resturant. Terrific location, just 5 minutes from Ballybunion Golf Club. This property will give you the true "Irish Inn" experience. The owner John O'Conner is likely to greet you upon arrival and be available for any questions, directions or just a good story.
Mike, San Diego CA

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Have visited this hotel on many occasions for golfing holidays. Was great as the Iragh Ti Connor and still has great service and super atmosphere as Kilcooly's. The staff are superb and food always great. Ready to book again for 2012!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Was part of a golf group was always made to feel welcome.
The room whilst slightly old fashioned was clean and had plenty of space, with good satellite tv coverage.
Food was fantastic dont know where our hosts John and Joan get their energy and constant smiles from I was exhausted after a couple of days and I was only enjoying myself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewiskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
9.0 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcooly's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcooly's Country House Hotel

Address: Main Street | Kerry, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $141 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcooly's Country House, formerly known as Iragh Ti Connor. John &; Joan O'Connor invite you to relax in their luxury country house. The 19th-century building has recently been refurbished to the highest standard with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilcooly's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing