We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest accomodations in Ireland”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Mary and Jimmy offer a friendly service where nothing is too much trouble,all done with a genuine warmth and charm in the unique Irish style. All facilities of high standard ,great food and delightful service.
Faultless.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giddyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

We walked in off the street without a reservation. There were five of us. Luck had it
that two rooms were available. Mary and James could not have been more gracious.
As everyone has said, the accomodations and amenities are five star. My 18 year old
daughter said Mary made the BEST scrambled eggs she has ever tasted. We were only there for one night, but we left feeling like family - especially when Mary and James stood
in the door waving goodbye as we drove off. We will never forget them. They get many
repeat customers which says it all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenieBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

James warmly received us after a day long drive, offered refreshments and showed us to our wonderful rooms. They are handsomely designed and decorated and so-o spacious. Every amenity had been thought of; luxury linens and toiletries, spa tubs (for the aching muscles after a long day on the course) and even a fireplace in the Cashen suite. It is spotlessly clean.

We met Mary, who had been attending her adorable daughter's broken collar bone, the next morning at the divine breakfast. I loved her immediately! She has lots of stories to share and we had an instant connection about places I know well. When we returned several days later to pick up our friends who had been golfing, seeing Mary again was like seeing an old friend. I hated to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This is a delightful place to stay. Spacious, comfortable rooms - excellent breakfasts - and James & Mary could not be a more welcoming couple. The Ballybunion club house is a five minute walk so ideal if golf is your target.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kotch_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

What a wonderful spot to come home to after golf. The 19th Lodge was very comfortable and James and Mary could not have been friendlier. We were very happy during our stay and loved the delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Lodge was very quaint. Rooms were very nice and clean. Great sitting area with television on first floor. Breakfast cooked personally every day by Mary was excellent. James was very gracious and made sure that our group had cushions for the chairs when we sat outside. Computer on second floor for guest use was a wonderful touch. If you golf, hotel located right across the street from Ballybunion Golf Club. Only negative is that you can't walk into town from the hotel's location and there is no bar/lounge...but you can purchase alcoholic beverages from Mary and James for consumption anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank best20nclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is a lovely hotel, spotless and charming with good computer access and the location is super. The made to order breakfasts are sumptious and Mary's pancakes are worth traveling 3000 miles for! But it is Mary and John's hospitality, warmth and attention to guests needs that make the 19th Lodge a must stay in Kerry.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonlad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0 mi away
Creevagh Heights
Creevagh Heights
#1 of 2 in Carrowmore-Lacken
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $141 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing