We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2009

James and Mary Beasley own a jewel right next to the Clubhouse at Ballybunion! While technically a B&B--only breakfast is served--this is really an elegant little hotel. The rooms--all named for famous golf courses (Pebble Beach for one) or golfers (a favorite guest like Tom Watson) --ar roomy, and very well appointed. James and Mary are very helpful and a pleasure to be around. The wifi internet connections are excellent and there is even an accessable computer and printer available for us by guests.

While situated perfectly for golfers, non-golfers would love the facility as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

If your planning to visit the seaside town of Ballybunion or tackle one of the two Ballybunion links courses, this is the place to stay. The proprietors, Mary and James, are two wonderful people that make you feel like you are part of the family visiting their home. The rooms and common areas are extremely clean and comfortable. And, the breakfast was outstanding. We will stay there again on our next golf vacation. Thank you, Mary and James.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacFamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This Lodge excedes all expectations. From check in to check out, Mary and James served our every wish with a smile and expediently. They were more than helpful and the restaurant reservations they made for us were great. The rooms were bright, cheery and CLEAN. The lounge provided a great venue for our group to relax and to recount our day's golf after dinner. After a wonderful sleep on a most comfortable bed, we had a great breakfast which was served quickly as we were on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

After a long day working at the Irish Seniors it was so good to come "home" to a warm welcome from Mark and James or one of their lovely children. Nothing was was any trouble - it was simply the most delightful place, scrummy breakfasts and a great shower! I do hope to go back and visit very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

There is no other guesthouse in the country to rival the 19th Lodge in Ballybunion. It was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there previously and he was singing its praises for the rest of the summer!
Immediately upon arrival I was greeted warmly by James & Mary Beasley who welcomed me into their luxurious home. The foyer is like that of a 5 star hotel. Very plush but with a warm, homely feel to it. 19th Lodge has successfully fused all the desirable qualities of a hotel with a guesthouse. The rooms were incredibly spacious, comfortable and clean. I had the most wonderful sunset views from my room window in the evening. The showers of the en-suite have to be experienced to be believed!!! I felt as if I had been transported to a spa! I must have stayed in that power shower for an hour!
How fortuitous I felt to be just a stones throw away from the Golf Course and many other local amenities which James kindly directed me to.
And as for the breakfast - I must admit I am very particular about my food - but Mary was most obliging and went out of her way to suit my fussy self, clearly taking great pride in the sumptuous breakfasts prepared for each guest. I have never written a comment before on a guesthouse but I felt compelled to share this hidden gem with the rest of the world - 19th Lodge really was the highlight of my trip and I plan to return there again very soon :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Mary and Jame could not have been more hospitable. I would recomment the 19th Lodge to anyone. The location near Ballybunion is an added plus. The shower was great and rivaled the ones at Pine Valley Golf Club.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I can not say enough nice things about The 19th Lodge, Mary or James. The accommodations were first class, the hospitality was second to none, the water pressure in the showers may be the best in Europe, and don't miss Mary's french toast. Whether you’re in Ballybunion for golf or just in the area on your travels this is unquestionably the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustSomeGuyFromSavGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
0 mi away
Creevagh Heights
Creevagh Heights
#1 of 2 in Carrowmore-Lacken
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#4 of 21 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
0 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
893 reviews
0 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $114 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing