We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I have stayed in.”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Best I have stayed in.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got recommended the 19th Lodge by friends who had stayed here and i could not recommend the place any higher. The staff were incredible and waited on our every needs as well as probably cooking the best irish breakfast in all the land. The rooms were incredibly spacious all with an on suite. The lodge sits a 2 minute walk from the course as well as a spectacular beach and overall i can say that there is no other place i will be staying when i make my yearly trip back to Ballybunion.

Room Tip: It has everything you need in every room from doubles to singles and they are all the same so honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 872JamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
223
280
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Brilliant place to stay, hospitality is fantastic, along with the breakfast, rooms and the location. Ideal for everybody from golfers to families. It was so good I am already looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Mary and James are perfect hosts. We were in Ballybunion for a wedding and our accommodations were excellent. Our room was inviting and immaculate. The breakfast delicious and James and Mary are so friendly, we felt as if we were family. Thank you….

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njmcc01908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a fantastic time. Best summarised by what our young kids told us at breakfast when we were leaving, they said "we want to live here."

Bedrooms and food were to a very high standard and the view of the Cashen course from the dining room is fab.

Claire and Charlie

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms were like but we loved the Constantino Rocca suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my second stay at the 19th Lodge and was even better than the first. Mary and James are amazing hosts and couldn't have done enough to make our stay enjoyable. They are very caring, the rooms are incredibly warm, comfortable and pristine. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Ballybunion. Ciara M

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The 19th Lodge last September. Both Mary and James could not be more hospitable and helpfull during our stay. Our room was spotless and to be able to start the day with a home made breakfast and end the day relaxing in the parlor was perfect. If you want to stay out of the rough and on the fairway there's no place better than The 19th Lodge.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RickCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed numerous times at the 19th Lodge. It's just across the road from Ballybunion Golf Club and is an easy walk to the town. The rooms are small, but very clean and very comfortable. Mary Beasley, the owner is very friendly and very hospitable. Her full Irish breakfasts are terrific! In my estimation, if you are looking for a great place to stay, in a beautiful area of Ireland, you cannot beat the 19th Lodge. And, by the way, there are also some very nice restaurants and pubs, for lunch and dinner, in the town of Ballybuniod and you are only a short drive from quite a few, fantastic golf courses. Jerry McMurtry

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.7 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Property: The 19th Lodge
Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing