We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My party of 4 stayed here during a golf trip for two nights. I only wish it had been longer! The Beasley's treat you like family, the food is great and the WiFi strong! Its right across the street from 36 holes of Ballybunion golf and near Tralee. Tom Watson stays here often. A+.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
There are newer reviews for The 19th Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our last stop on a beautiful Irish vacaton and we could have stayed forever. Mary and James go out of their way to make your stay perfect. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and Mary booked a dinner for us overlooking the castle and ocean and made sure that they knew it was his birthday.. we were seranaded by the staff and presented with a desert w/ a candle all at Mary's request. The 19th Lodge was first class all the way from the large size of the rooms, the linens and beautifully appointed furniture.The beds are so comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious, complete with jacuzzi tubs. The breakfast choices were wonderful and each equally delicious. If you are considering a stay at Ballybunion, Ireland, the place to stay is the 19th Lodge. You will find no better lodging and no more gracious hosts, that Mary and James Beasley and you will be TREATED LIKE ROYALTY. We will be back.

Room Tip: Each room is equally wonderful. You have a choice of the golf course view or garden view....all exce...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

All 7 of our group had a great time at The 19th Lodge. The hospitality and comfort made me feel like I was visiting a relative's home, but without the relatives, win - win! James' breakfast spread, simply awesome. Quiet at night, like spending a few days on the farm, but with 36 world-class golf holes next door. Mary took care of us like Mom, always with a smile and an easy laugh. Go and Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rooms were great but the hospitality was even better. Mary and Jim are incredible hosts who arranged dinners, cabs and everything else we needed. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are large with plenty of hot water. The breakfast served by Mary was delicious. It was a pleasant experience staying at The 19th Lodge and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Beaseleys are gracious innkeepers at this comfy modern lodge (less than 20 years old) next to 4 or 5 other inns on the main road just down from Ballybunion Golf Club. We stayed in the “Ian Woosnam” suite that was beautifully appointed and very restful with modern ventilated bathroom, fireplace and sitting area, good bed and lighting. Other family members stayed in a less expensive but equally comfortable room with similar amenities. The rooms are cozy and warm; if you like to sleep cool you should open a window or two. No problems getting online with my MacBook Pro or I-pad. Innkeeper Mary Beaseley is so helpful and knowledgeable with suggestions for dinner and non-golfing activities (the exciting Listoral race week was happening during our visit to Ballybunion). Mary serves up a delicious breakfast – try those Irish style pancakes before you head out for the day. The lodge has photos of many famous visitors who I am sure found this lodge just as relaxing and delightful as we did after a challenging day on the links. Not inexpensive, but a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to carry your bags upstairs
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks to Mary and James for being wonderful hosts. Your place is lovely and our room
was great. We were only there one night (Aug. 30) which was bad planning on our part. We were there for the golf (right across the road!) but, honestly, I would have been just as happy to hang out in your B& B, explore the town, and walk on the beach. We hope to come back for a longer stay and more of your delicious breakfast and fabulous hospitality. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grammy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the 19th Lodge in May, and it was just a wonderful experience. James and Mary (you're on a first name basis instantly) bent over backwards to make us comfortable. Mary has a natural ability to connect with people. Rooms and food were both top notch, and they were more than happy to have breakfast ready a bit early for us. The fact that you're a stones throw from one of the most beautiful golf courses in the world doesn't hurt, either.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.0 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: $129 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing