We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Ballybunion Golfer or Not”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay in Ballybunion Golfer or Not”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

My name is Steve Dolan, my wife Diane and I have traveled to Ireland since 1999. We starting staying at The 19th Lodge in 2000 and have never missed staying there since. James and Mary Beasley are the reason we visit but their beautiful lodge entices you also. We have since brought several family members who fell in love with the Beasley's and the Lodge.
Rooms are beautiful, the Old Course at Ballybunion and the beach are literally across the road, the town and the Cliff Walk are a few hundred meters away. The most ideal spot we have visited and you will be treated like royalty by the Beasley's. This is a must stop and a guaranteed pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDolan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
223
279
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Staying with James & Mary is like visiting old friends. I received a warm welcome and settled very quickly into my surroundings, which I must advise were spotless! James kindly helped me with my luggage & ensuring I had fresh milk for my cuppa upon arrival. The breakfast menu was very impressive & the constant top up of Tea / Coffee was an added bonus. The location as regards the Golf Club is excellent & James even drove me over the short distance to the GC as it was raining. Mary's warmth & hospitality is superb & I can honestly say it's the best place I've ever stayed! Thanks to you both for everything!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina-D-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We recently stayed at The 19th Lodge for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! James and Mary make you feel right at home the moment you walk in the door. The rooms are very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. We were in the Ian Woosnam Suite and the shower may be one of the best I have ever been in :) The Lodge is conveniently located next to Ballybunion which was a wonderful place as well. We are planning on returning to the area again in the near future and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I have celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary traveling through the Emerald Isle. The 19th Lodge was the best of all places we stayed!! Mary and James are absolutely delightful!
We are pretty picky and accustomed to the Marriott Properties in the States. We can not recommned this establishment more highly.
This is the first time we have ever written a review, We were moved to do so as the experience was extraordinary!
All the best!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Location, location, location...2 minutes walk form the courses and downtown...clean and very nice...James and Mary were fun and organized...would stay there again in a second.

Great place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGolfer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed there for two nights end of April. Very friendly and professional service. Is is family owned and operated.
We had a great large roo
With big queen beds, view o er the golf course. I am very picky when it comes to bathrooms. This one was impeccable, with high pressure shower. Nice breakfast. Great value! Simply put, The place to stay if visiting the lovely town of Ballybunion.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globus_Trott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2011

James and Mary embraced my group of 8 golfers with warmth and great service in this family run Band B. We were very surprised with the updated rooms and bathrooms and really appreciated the personalized touches of the owners. The food and service were stellar and enjoyable. I have already suggested it to fellow golfers looking for lodging in this great golf city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripout2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.7 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Property: The 19th Lodge
Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing