We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ideal accommodation for golfers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pruhonice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ideal accommodation for golfers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

The 19th Lodge offers top quality homely accommodation. The rooms are large, comfortable and homely. Everything about the hotel, not least the warm welcome and local knowledge of the owners, the rich Irish breakfast and the golf theme throughout the hotel helped our group of 4 international golfers to prepare for a tough but enjoyable day just a short walk across the road on the wonderful Ballybunion links courses. When we return to the area, we will return to the 19th Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
216
270
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Highly recommended

The accommodation is perfectly located for golf and is the highest quality of b&b's you will find.

It is true service with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

I have just returned from a superb golfing trip playing the Cashen and Old courses at Ballybunion. We stayed at The 19th Hole Lodge just a five wood away from the clubhouse. How lucky we were. Mary and James made us feel completly at home IMMEDIATELY. Their warmth and genuine care made our stay reallt great. The bedrooms are modern, comfortable very clean and in excellent condition. Amenities are good with parking lovely lounge, wifi and tvs not to mention the lovely breakfast room and beautiful home made cooking. Mary and James are very proud of their lodge which is siomnply an extension of their home and as a result the feel is like a home from home with a welcome to match. I look forward to going back one day and would suggest anyone stying there could be guaranteed a warm genuine and caring welcome from committed people dedicated to service and excellence.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

The best hotel I have ever stayed at in Ireland, and I have been traveling there for most of my life. Big rooms, great bathrooms. Everything is very well maintained. The breakfast is really good. The owners are wonderful: warm, friendly and attentive. If you are planning to play Ballybunion, this is the place to stay. It is literally right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paduwa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

My husband, son and I spent 10 days in Ireland and playing Ballybunion was number one on our list of things to do. The 19th Lodge was immediately across the street from the Ballybunion Golf Course so we looked into staying there. After corresponding with Mary while planning the trip, I knew we had to stay there! Mary was so wonderful to work with and is the epitomy of Irish hospitality; she was EXTREMELY helpful when it came to arranging our tee time - and we were so warmly greeted we felt truly welcome! Our visit to Ireland would not have been the same without her or her husband! In addition, our room was large with comfortable beds, and with a spacious bathroom (all of which were a must for two parents traveling with a teenager!). And breakfast was terrific!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I recently did a 2 night stay at the 19th Lodge while playing Ballybunion -- we had a fantastic time. It is in an extremely convenient location, and the rooms, service and food were excellent. I'd recommend a visit to anyone. It is run by wonderful people, you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Spent two nights at the 19th lodge in Nov for golfing trip with my husband and inlaws. Had a wonderful experience. The rooms were comfortable and very well decorated. Mary and James were the exactly what you would expect of Irish hospitality - providing both recommendations, information, and a wonderful breakfast (I would highly recommend Mary's french toast). Overall a highlight of our week long trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank American_in_Zurich04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.7 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Property: The 19th Lodge
Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing