We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty little place in BallyB!”
Review of The Mixing Bowl - CLOSED

The Mixing Bowl
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary, Cafe
Restaurant details
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A tasty little place in BallyB!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

On a recent trip to Ballybunion we happened to come across this cafe....first impressions were really good, the decor is refreshing and yet still delicate, very clean and the tables are not squashed together. We had the soup of the day with homemade bread, tea/ coffee and we each had a different dessert - they were ALL homemade and were delicious - could not identify any faults with the place. What I found the most endearing about the mixing bowl was that the owner was there - front of house and is also the head baker from my understanding....I think it is very reassuring to know that there are no 'airs or graces' in this cafe which undoubtely contribute to the relaxing atmosphere in the classy establishment. I would 100% recommed a visit to the Mixing Bowl and i will certainly be returning!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawn83, Owner at The Mixing Bowl, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Awh what lovely comments! Yes you are right there are no airs and graces, everyone works really hard as a team to help be the best that we are!
Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to review our business we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Aine and the MB team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    15
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade food and cosy welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Mixing Bowl is a little gem of a cafe, located just off the main street in Ballybunion, beside Supervalu. Everytime I am in Ballybunnion I call in to a great welcome, fantastic cake and treats (try the red velvet cake - it's a house speciality!) and excellent coffee. Aine, the owner, and founder of the Mixing Bowl. Her produce is all made by her own fair hands and is a labour of love...you can taste the care with which it is prepared in every delicious bite!

A great place to call in and meet friends for a catch up over some gorgeous coffee and treats and a real addition to the town of BallyB!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawn83, Owner at The Mixing Bowl, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Glad you liked our chilli jam and felt we catered to your needs.

Kind regards
Aine and the MB team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definately not to miss if visiting BallyBunion, Co Kerry”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A lot of locals recommended this place and they were 100% right.

Fantastic, healthy & delicious homemade 'FRESH' food in this small scenic coastal town. You have the choice of sweet and savory made from totally natural 'real' ingredients (butter & eggs) every day. She even caters for some special dietary requirements, gluten free chocolate cake or vanilla/fruit cupcakes...

Also possibility to order cakes for all occasions, bread, cupcakes, scones or picnic lunches, pots of lemon curd or chili jams to take away !

Lovely little business, great value & excellent service with smiles on everyone’s faces. Definitely not to miss if visiting BallyBunion, Co Kerry. I totally recommend !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EJOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawn83, Owner at The Mixing Bowl, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you so much for reviewing our business we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Aine and the MB team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Aine goes out of her way to serve us the most gorgeous desserts and sandwiches. All made fresh and with real butter and free range eggs. I love the red velvet cake and also her trademark carrot cake

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kerrykirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawn83, Owner at The Mixing Bowl, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to review our business we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Aine and the MB team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mixing Bowl also viewed

Ballybunion, County Kerry
Ballybunion, County Kerry
 
Ballybunion, County Kerry
Ballybunion, County Kerry
 
Ballybunion, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing