We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf but pricey”

Ballybunion Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking views and natural design make this one of the few "timeless" courses found throughout the world.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great golf but pricey”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

They are charging tourists a whole different rate than the locals, but it is a great golf experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuckyBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    55
    16
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views at this famous club”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hard golf, mixed weather! There is a little cafe where you can get coffee (good) and sandwiches (not so good). The upstairs bar area has wonderful views and the food in there was good (I would compare to good pub food as opposed to anything posh). Service and people were all friendly. A great club shop with lots of choice including women's golf gear (although mostly in large or small sizes only). All in all a very lovely place to play golf and chill afterwards as you watch the sea from the window...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“relax and enjoy”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

whether it is a meal, a drink or just a cup of coffee you will enjoy the time that you spend here.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and the food and atmosphere is great. Try it for yourself and enjoy your visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank katandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing seaside golf on the Emerald Isle”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ballybunion begins with a drive that is a bit scary! A misfire to the right and you are in a very old cemetery. As the day progressed the rain continued and it was great! The weather did not prevent me from having one of my better rounds of the trip. I shot a 78 and when we were finished, my caddie, Sean said in a very heavy accent, "You strike it well laddie, I would like to see what you could do on a nice day." The best part of the entire trip was that fact that I was with my dad!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Golf mecca”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

An incredible links course...one stunning hole after another...a wee bit snobby in the pro shop, I thought, but the caddy master and other workers were very friendly...a must-play!

Tip: GET A CADDY! Well worth the price!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guinnessluvr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballybunion Golf Club also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
Ballybunion, County Kerry
 
Doonbeg, County Clare
Ballybunion, County Kerry
 

Been to Ballybunion Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing