We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marine Links Hotel(Ballybunion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ceol Na Habhann(Listowel)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Myles Creek(Kilkee)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bayview(Kilkee)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
102
51
18
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
51
18
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge room with balconyirish singerno liftsea viewcivil ceremonythis family run hotelfamily celebrationlovely nighthakenorth kerrychowdersister hotelthe pubsmall hotelsuperb hotelporridgewould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 192 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

For our annual golf trip we stayed for four nights at the Cliff House Hotel in Ballybunion and couldn't reccommend it high enough. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and for different reasons I would put this hotel right up there. Although it is a 3 *** Hotel the owner Kevin and his wife Fiona run a very welcoming and professional operation. The bedrooms were immaculate and very comfortable, Kevin's education of food and wine is second to none and the chef produced the most amazing French cuisine. The staff were extremely friendly and the service superb.This hotel has the typical Irish friendly atmosphere about it and I would not hesitate in reccommending it to anyone who intends travelling to County Kerry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed in the Cliff House Hotel for 4 nights during race week (September 2011). Having stayed in a number of hotels across Ireland and Internationally this hotel equals the standard of a 5 star hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and the food was superb! What makes this hotel unique is their amazing staff, they couldn't do enough for you and they were always willing to go above and beyond! This is a family run hotel which clearly makes a significant difference. I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you lovely comments on The Cliff House Hotel,
I remember chatting with you on the morning of your departure when you personally complimented me on food and indeed the amazing staff, I have to agree we have wonderful team here at the hotel.

We look forward to having you back in the hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Fiona O’Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with National Holidays.
The hotel is in a prime position, & we had a balcony room overlooking Ballybunion beach.
The room was clean & a good size, the en-suite was very good. The only problem with the rooms were the paper thin walls, we were kept awake from 5.30am on the first morning by a bad snorer in the next room, luckily for us we were informed that the snorer was leaving that day & it was OK after that.
The food was excellent, except for a bread & butter pudding which was awful.
The staff were all a delight, but with our coach party being the first this year at the hotel, they were a bit haphazard.
Ballybunion is lovely with great walks either way from the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony with sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

I am certainly disappointed that your night’s sleep was not all that it could have been.
Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer you an upgraded room away from the snoring guest.

I am sorry that our bread & butter pudding was not up to its usual standard on the night you had it, our team of chef’s in the kitchen ware informed and I can assure you that the next time you visit, the bread & butter pudding will be just as excellent as the rest of our food.

I am disappointed that you thought the staff to be a bit haphazard serving you, and I would like you to know that I have raised this with our entire service team as part of our training. I am pleased that you did think the staff to be delightful.

Thank you for your lovely comments about Ballybunion itself; it is indeed a lovely seaside town, with great walks.

Once again, thank you for all your comments.

We look forward to having you back in the hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Fiona O’Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Went with National Holidays, Superb five day trip would recommend it , Alan our driver couldn't do enough, and his knowledge about the area made up a great deal of the enjoyment of the trip. But back to the hotel we arrive about 8-30 pm a full three meal was waiting for us our bags were in our room by the time we had finished our meal. Through out our stay the staff were totally helpful always with a smile.We had a room with a sea facing balcony and the view was fantastic. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gezcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about the Cliff House Hotel,
The staff always appreciate it when the good service they provide is noticed and more so when it is posted on trip advisor !

I have to agree a smile goes along way !

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments.

We look forward to having you back in the hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Fiona O’Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The cliff house is a superb hotel located right beside the beach . It Is family run and the staff outstanding . The food rivals any top London restaurant and the bar is full of atmosphere - highly recommended .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about the Cliff House Hotel,
We are indeed a family run business and work hard with the team of Chef’s in the kitchen and the wonderful young ladies & gents that serve you to make sure that each person receives that excellent service that we pride ourselves on, so thank you for noticing !

We look forward to having you back in the hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Fiona O’Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews