We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home for my families -all of us.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunratty Castle Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunratty Castle Mews
Ranked #5 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home for my families -all of us.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

These rooms have a great location and we were really made to feel welcome! We wanted to do the B&B thing, but there were 15 of us, so we decided to come back to the same place each day. Dolores made wonderful breakfasts and even had strawberries each day special for my little kids. They felt at home and talked about "my room". All the rooms were clean and well furnished if not new. The bar and lounge areas were nice for getting together after the days excursions and planning the next day. There was plenty of parking for all our vehicles. We were close to Dirty Nelly's Pub and the Creamery Pub plus local restaurants. There was even a refrigerator for us to use. Gary's local knowledge was great. A couple of us ran into flight problems going home. They took us back in and looked after us. Can't say enough how good they took care of us. I will definitely stay here again. So convenient too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    45
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
99
102
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This B & B is really only recommended. So a warm welcome, I got it before. The rooms are equipped with a lot of love and very customizable.
We look forward to seeing you again. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious, and in the beautiful bright breakfast room, it tastes even better.
The owner also told us about the history of the house and what we should see everything in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Thanks Dolores for giving us a great experience in your home. From the minute we arrived there she could not do enough for us. It was raining one night and she gave us a lift to the restaurant, which she did not have to do. The rooms were lovely and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional, we didnt need to eat for the rest of the day after we ate the breakfast. We would return again and would recommend it highly to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marybee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Dolores is a wonderful host and her outstanding hospitality made our stay a delight. The guesthouse is beautiful and the location is outstanding. Easily in my top 5 places to stay While in beautiful Ireland.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dolores and Gary have a beautiful home and make you feel most welcome.Dolores has a lovely bubbly personality and I wouldnt say she sits down for a min,she seems to be on the go the whole time.My husband myself and our 13 year old son stayed for only the one night and our room was lovely and cosy breakfast nice and unfortunaly could,nt avail of her lovely grounds as we had to go early, but beautiful and tranquil grounds they are.

Finally her lovely home is only .5 mile from durty nellies where we had a fantastic evening by the way.Thank you Dolores for a lovely stay.

Ps one more thing as dolores said her and the Mother in law are the best strippers in co clare ha ha (bed strippers) I mean in case anyone gets any funny ideas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deporresWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were made so very welcome offered tea /coffee drinks on arrival.Our room was amazing,the decor simply fabulous.Delores is a welcoming person,the bed was very comfortable and
beautifully dressed,and that is very important having travelled for hours,we would recommend
it to all our friends.The breakfast was excellent,over all we would say an excellent B& B.

Room Tip: quiet and relaxing in a lovely location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

the review by Clentgate 486 was identical to our experience, just proving that Dolores's legendary hospitality is consistent for everyone!
From the moment we arrived until the very last second we were there we really couldn't have asked for better care!! Our every need was catered for, befor we even knew what our need was!!
Our room was lovely, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is just amazing: huge choice of cereals, nuts, grains etc, fresh fruit, fruit salad, yogurts, cheeses, coldmeats, at least 5 types of bread, cakes, scones, pastries, biscuits, excellent full irish breakfast as well as anything else you may fancy eg omelettes, scrambled eggs etc.
we have put on at least a stone thanks to Dolores!!
We would recommend staying here to everyone at least once in your life!!
we are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw through open doors looked great, but we loved our kingsize bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewdleyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Mews

Property: Bunratty Castle Mews
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland (Formerly Cecilia Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bunratty Castle Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunratty Castle Mews Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing