We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bunratty Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Verona, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I'd booked this place for one night essentially because it's close to Shannon Airport and we would have a short drive to catch flight home early the next morning. If I were to go back to Ireland I might consider spending my first night or two in the country here - in addition to the location it is a comfortable and welcoming spot. The host Barry was friendly and we had fun talking to him. He told us about the house itself, which is solar powered and "green," and about his experiences as a "city boy" marrying a girl from a farm - funny.
We didn't sample breakfast because of our early flight, but the hosts left out some take-along food for us. Our room looked out over the River Shannon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
99
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure in staying with Barrie and Dariena in what is a top class guesthouse. The area is fabulous with views of the river and countryside. The room was spacious, very clean, modern and well furnished and had an excellent range of television channels on a large flat screen tv.

There is a computer for guests who don't have wifi enabled computers. And Yip there is wifi here too at no cost when we stayed. Breakfast was excellent with a range of options. We met some other guests who were leaving the following morning on an early flight to the USA. The hosts informed them that some coffees, juices and cereals etc would be there for them in the morning before their early flight. A lot of places wouldn't bother. I thought this was a real classy touch.

Bunratty village is a walk away or at most 4 mins in a taxi. If you are looking for recommendations on where to go ask the hosts. Barrie has a wealth of information on the locality and what to do/where to go.

All in all an excellent location with a superb family as hosts. I can see why they get such rave reviews.



Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sunflowers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

bunratty meadows is in a perfect location, perfect little farm house but so near to limerick and galway. my husband and i spent 2 nights here, dariena and her husband barry are so friendly and helpfull, we really enjoyed having the craic with them. Bunratty Meadows was one of the most stylish b&b's we stayed in, the rooms are just so cosy and immaculate. we would highly recommend a stay here. Its really a home to home:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymoo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

You won't be disappointed with this selection! A beautiful property and a charming family. We stayed here near the end of our time in Ireland and we simply loved everything. The rooms are well appointed and very comforable. The view from room 1 is so nice...you just about see the setting sun off in the distance. There is access to a computer for those of us who still check email while on vacation (LOL). The breakfust selection is varied and delicious. You will find the owners and their young son to be such a delight and so very charming. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return on our next visit.

Of special note.....THANKS to Dariena for being flexible with our arrival date plus being kind enough to return my son's jacket to the US once we discovered it was left behind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Bunratty Meadows is a small, charming B&B nestled in the midst of a working dairy with real, live cows! (You can even hear them mooing sometimes which makes the experience all the more pastoral). It is immaculate and very comfortable. The owners are delightful and can help with any questions. The only negative is that the breakfast is so enormous, you hate to walk away with any of it unfinished!

My family and I stayed at Bunratty Meadows the morning we arrived (exhausted) in Ireland. Dariena (the delightful owner) immediately gave us a room even though it was 7:00am. It was a perfect start to our Irish vacation.

Those of you with children will appreciate the little boy who lives there and is very generous when it comes to sharing his toys.

PROS:
15 minutes from Shannon Airport
pastoral location
delightful owners
enormous, delicious breakfast

CONS:
None, really

N.B.
The B&B is not IN Bunratty so, if you want to see the castle or go to the banquet, you will have to drive about 3 minutes. Then again, you won't hear those cows if you stay in Bunratty proper...

If you need a place near Shannon Airport or want to see the Bunratty Castle/Banquet -- this B&B is perfect.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the fields and river -- get one of those if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kern22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We found them on TripAdvisor and second all the accolades that have already been posted. Everything was off the charts first class from the uniqueness of the location to the warmness of the Dariena and her little son Caleb who entertained us at breakfast before leaving for school. The house was spotless with upscale bathrooms and a delightful sunny breakfast room where a bountiful breakfast was served to order. The dairy cows in the surrounding beautiful green pasture overlooking the Limmerick river basin added a refreshing element to our stay. When we booked our stay we wanted to experience the Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet so Dariena was kind enough to handle our banquet reservations for us. We had the time of our lives at the banquet which was well worth the price for and unforgettable evening. Treat yourself and enjoy a pleasant stay with Dariena, Barry and Caleb. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Room 1 had a great view with a queen and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before we flew back to the U.S. The B&B is very close to Shannon Airport and Bunratty Castle, which was perfect for us since we saw the castle our last day there. Dariena and her husband were very welcoming. They had breakfast made to order and it was delicious. Although we weren't here long, we would definitely recommend Bunratty Meadows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesmsmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
1.5 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
1.1 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
335 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Meadows Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Meadows Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bunratty Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Address: Clonmoney West, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunratty Meadows 4 **** Star Plus Rated, designed for your comfort and enjoyment. FREE Broadband Internet Access & FREE Wifi Zone. Newly built on an elevated site with breath taking views of Clare, Kerry, Limerick and the Silvermine Mountains. Spacious family rooms & All en-suites (with Bathrooms). Kingsize Beds. High-pressure power showers. Hi-Def 32" Flat Screens TV in all rooms with Satellite Channels.Radio Clocks. Laundry Facility. Extensive breakfast menu to cater for all Tastes. Scenic views of the estuary and islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bunratty Meadows Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunratty Meadows b&b
Bunratty Meadows Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing