We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunratty Banquet”

Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.82*
and up
Medieval Banquet at Bunratty Castle
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join the Earl of Thomond for a glorious banquet at this majestic 15th century Bunratty Castle. The Earl’s Butler welcomes guests from the four corners of the world toasting an era of great Irish taste with excellent food, fine wine and honey mead.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Centennial, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bunratty Banquet”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Castle was great, the entertainment really fun, mead was OK, dinner was different and not bad for this tyoe of attraction. Met some lovely people at our table and had a really grand time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lorcahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    183
    54
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltinglass
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical, whimsical evening”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

An amazing evening enjoyed by myself and eight year old daughter. The entertainment was fabulous. The entertainers were so good with children and very welcoming. My daughter was delighted to see someone being thrown into the dungeon. I was very pleasantly surprised with the exceptional quality of the food. The soup was fabulous. The chicken was moist and succulent. You won't leave hungry as there is so~o much food to enjoy. Highly recommend.
PS: For the Americans- The yellow veg on the plate is turnip & is delish. :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The premise is a medieval banquet where you eat with a knife. The food was ordinary--pretty good soup, greasy spare ribs, small chicken parts and a non-medieval dessert. The service was good. The singers and musicians who performed were excellent, but the whole event was sort of cheesy and touristy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babbettemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Trip Back in Time”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Before we left for Ireland we found out about this Bunratty Castle and the Medieval Banquet and knew right then and there this was something we had to do while in Bunratty. First off the Castle was very cool. We toured the Castle a few hours before the banquet to find out what it was all about. From the beginning of the banquet it was legendary. The actors greeted you in authentic clothing and spoke how it would be back in those times. We were presented with music of an expert violinist and a lady on the harp. They served us traditional mead which by the way is so delicious and you can actually buy it at the duty free when leaving the country. The feast is served in extraordinary style. The banquet room was set just as you would expected with win and water on the table and the only utensil you receive is a knife. They provided all the wine you could drink (red or white) and water of course. I think we were all curious of the food and how much you were going to receive. Needless to say you did not walk away hungry. The first course was a soup in a bowl you had to drink and a loaf of soda bread. The second course was ribs that were served on a platter in the middle of the table. Now they didn't mess around with these ribs because there was about 8 half racks on one platter and each table had 3 platters. They were delicious and you could each as much as you could handle. The third course was a chicken breast served with a fresh vegetable medley. It was really good but I still think the ribs were better. After completing the meal and feeling stuffed as can be they sang some beautiful songs which were relaxing. This whole experience was one to remember. Definitely bring a camera and an empty stomach cause you will need both.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Photofox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A night in Medieval Ireland”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We started out the night in a large room decorated with medieval items. Characters in period dress were playing the harp, singing, and offering honey mead to drink. It was really good. They told about the origin of mead. In the banquet hall we started with soup which was eaten with no utensils to be historically accurate. The ribs were delicious. The chicken was extremely dry. Then there was singing and jokes, so in all a fun way to pass about 1 1/2 hours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet also viewed

Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Limerick, County Limerick
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing