We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms”
Review of Ashgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashgrove House
Ranked #14 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent the whole day in Bunratty castle and went to this B&B at only 5 mn
Our guests were very nice,
Welcome with Irish coffee and scones.
Very nice rooms
Near pubs and restaurants, very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house have a direct access to the garden and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Now Sheila & Frank and their lovely dog Sydney will provide you with a warm welcome to the Ashgrove House B&B. The personal and friendly atmosphere of this house make you really feel at home and part of the family. A stay with friends. And if you are a musicians or singer, ask for the guitar and do an audition for Frank. He will love it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-LotteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location: Approximately 1 mile from Bunratty Castle. Would be difficult without a car but I am sure Sheila could solve that problem.
Staff: Welcomed with an Irish coffee. Just like being at home having a chat with friends. They booked us in to the banquet at Bunratty Castle, which was fun & entertaining.
Accommodation: Clean & comfortable. Excellent full Irish breakfast served with home made warm scones – more than you could eat, Oh, alright, maybe another scone. Thank you Sheila & Frank.
Would I Recommend: Definitely – this is our 2nd visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Ashgrove house for the first two nights of our trip to Ireland. Sheila had made connections for us to get there from Shannon airport, and arranged transport for dinner as well. The food was great, i think she made the best scones we had the entire trip. Bunratty Castle and folk park are just a short walk away. The rooms are comfortable and clean. She had good suggestions for exploring the area on our free day, and Irish coffee on our return. I would love to go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Ashgrove House May 2-3 and 17, both at the beginning and end of our tour.

We can verify that everything the 5 star reviews said about Sheila, Frank and Ashgrove House is 100% accurate, though they might have put in a plug for Sydney, the official and adorable four-legged terrier greeter.

It is the absolute perfect location and experience for decompressing after a long flight from afar, and I would recommend staying there for a day or two of uninterrupted rest before embarking on your travels around Ireland. As noted above, we also decompressed there for a day after our two-weeks of touring and our schedule of "on the bus, off the bus" every few days.

Not only will you need the rest, but Sheila has a PhD in taking care of the tired and wrinkled. She will provide guidance in what to do in Ireland, and how to do it, if asked. She has and is a wealth of information on all aspects of the country, and is more than happy to hold forth on whatever you would like to know about it, particularly its history, past and present. It's like taking a university if not a graduate level class in the subject, with a huge break in the tuition, and no exams!

Great breakfasts, snacks, tea...

If desired, Sheila can arrange for a cab to pick you up at the airport (20 Euros) and take you back.

A perfect stay...comfortable rooms, heated mattresses, and the warmth of knowing you are well cared for.

There is only one Sheila and Ashgrove House, and you really don't want to miss out on the experience.

Richard Luros and Barbara Levin
San Diego

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunonMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Traveled with a family of four and myself. Sheila was so welcoming with delicious Irish coffees all around. Felt like we were visiting with a relative. Rooms were very cozy and comfortable (bed warmers are a great touch!). Excellent full Irish breakfast. Great location close to the Shannon airport for day #1 in Ireland. Definitely visit Bunratty Castle and folk park. We hesitated to book the medieval dinner at the castle but very glad we did - fun and the kids enjoyed the festivities. The castle and park are just down the road from the Ashgrove House. Definitely recommend Ashgrove House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Once again Frank and Sheila have outdone themselves. My daughter and I stayed for several days in March and as always, Ashgrove House was warm(heated beds), cozy and inviting. The landscaping is beautiful all year round but the daffodils in the yard were in bloom, and it gave us hope that Spring was actually on the way. We sat at the table and watched Sheila whip up a batch of yummy scones before our eyes. She had warm scones sitting in front of us in a matter of minutes. My children always tell me that they feel like they are coming home when we stay in Bunratty. We love Frank and Sheila and Ashgrove House. It is the BEST!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunratty hotels
1.3 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Avarest Bunratty B&B
#12 of 23 in Bunratty
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bunratty Castle Mews
Bunratty Castle Mews
#5 of 23 in Bunratty
325 reviews
0 mi away
Bunratty Heights Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range: $32 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashgrove House is a full-service B&B, close to Bunratty Castle and Limerick City, and a very short drive from Shannon Airport. The Famous Durty Nellie's Pub is right beside Bunratty Castle. This is a traditional county where music and culture abound. Bring your instrument and join in a seisiún with the local musicians playing fiddles, pipes, concertinas and accordions. Your room will be warm with good beds, tea and coffee making facilities, television, clock/radios, hairdryers, curling irons. A warm welcome awaits you, with maybe something to warm the cockles of your heart. We can also arrange a b&b reservation for your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing