We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asbolutely wonderful!”
Review of Ashgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashgrove House
Ranked #13 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
South Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Asbolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Sheila picked us up from Gallagher's when we arrived and was very helpful. When we got to Ashgrove House, she let us get settled in, then gave us an Irish coffee and asked about our plans. She advised us on how to get around and set us up on a wonderful tour to the Cliffs of Moher. She even drove us to the bus stop for the tour the next morning because it was raining. The breakfast was hearty and delicious both mornings of our stay and was a bit different both days. Durty Nelly's was a very fun bar and the walk from Ashgrove to there and the castle was beautiful and not too long. If you're looking for a good meal while you're there--try The Creamery down the road... and split your meal with whoever is accompanying you! :) The morning we left, Frank drove us and another couple all the way to Limerick so we could catch our bus to Cork. Overall, the stay was wonderful. Frank and Sheila were social but gave us time alone to do as we please and they were very helpful. The room was wonderful and the garden was beautiful. We may stay there again before the end of our trip because it was really just perfect.

--Heather and Ben

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preparationheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    18
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Shelia was a delightful hostess and her homemade scones and bread were worth the trip to Ireland! Very interesting person - knowledgeable about Irish history. Gave our 3-year-old a toy car that he is still playing with. Highest recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshevilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've stayed with Sheila and Frank around 6-8 times and they are great every time. They are so kind, friendly and helpful and it really feels like second home to me. I usually stay in the cheapest room, the one that is not ensuite and so I don't know about the "better ones". But for me the thing is the atmosphere and the feeling I get when I go there. They are just the gratest couple :). So we see you again maybe next year Sheila and Frank.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja_A_Suomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Sheila and Frank are some of the nicest and warmest B and B Hosts you will find anywhere. They always make you feel so welcome. Very knowledgeable about Bunratty, Shannon, and Limerick areas to let you really enjoy the sites. Ashgrove House is beautifull and a very relaxing experience. I have stayed there 3 times, and everytime is the same, absolutely grand.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Just completed a 14-day trip to southwest Ireland in September. Stayed at Ashgrove House at the front and back end of my tour. An absolutely lovely B&B along a country road, quiet and relaxing, about 1km from Bunratty Castle. Sheila and Frank are kind, accommodating, gracious hosts, a pleasure to meet and chat with. Always willing to help with pickup arrangements and guest needs. Wonderful breakfasts as well. It was a perfect visit and recommended highly for any travelers in this area, or for those needing a starting/ending point for their tour that is not far from Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

No accommodations on my two week trip to Ireland could come close to Sheila and Frank's Ashgrove House. In fact, few attractions I encountered could provide the level of entertainment I experienced those two nights just interacting with and listening to this fine and very funny couple! They really went above and beyond when it came to being helpful and accommodating.

My cozy, queen-bed and twin-bed room was lovely, with a view past the blacktop of a green hillside meadow and grazing cows. Sheila was kind enough to give a lesson to this confused foreigner on how to use an Irish shower (there are two concentric dials, one for temperature and one for water volume). It was very quiet and peaceful there. Our hosts provided a great introduction to the good old Irish breakfast, with plenty of eggs, sausages and bacon (much leaner than American stuff)--enough to last you through 'til dinner with just a snack in between. With Bunratty Castle and the Folk Park (a collection of restored historical dwellings) within walking distance, there was plenty to do.

I had the added advantage there of meeting some of the other travelers who would be part of the 9-day traditional music journey I was taking with Enchanted Way Tours. Wisely, the tour leaders recommended a stay at Ashgrove to those coming early. I'm so glad I took them up on it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

a hidden gem just down from castle great irish couple lovely breakfast home baked bread and scones cant do enough for you we will be back" the bikers"

Room Tip: all have great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
1.0 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Avarest Bunratty B&B
#12 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Mews
Bunratty Castle Mews
#5 of 23 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Property: Ashgrove House
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashgrove House is a full-service B&B, close to Bunratty Castle and Limerick City, and a very short drive from Shannon Airport. The Famous Durty Nellie's Pub is right beside Bunratty Castle. This is a traditional county where music and culture abound. Bring your instrument and join in a seisiún with the local musicians playing fiddles, pipes, concertinas and accordions. Your room will be warm with good beds, tea and coffee making facilities, television, clock/radios, hairdryers, curling irons. A warm welcome awaits you, with maybe something to warm the cockles of your heart. We can also arrange a b&b reservation for your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing