We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We were really excited staying at this hotel. Thinking romantic and luxurious ... completely not what we got when we stayed! We spent 120euro on a hotel room. Room itself was tiny, old crappy furniture, the shower head was encrusted with scum and late that night when we rolled back the cover on the bed, we found it to be all stained! Luckily the sheet were clean so we just slept in these. The room smelt musty and the view was roof tops - not a big deal but if we had the window open and a child was with us there was no problem getting out onto the roof! Staff in general were nice, and the food was edible but the rest was a complete and utter let down. When you think bunratty hotel you think luxury ... you would be better off staying at the lodge down the road, cheaper and cleaner or taxing it into limerick afterwards if you have a venue coming up here. Overall i'd give this hotel a 2 out of 10 and thats only because we meet 1 really nice member of staff there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachel0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

my girlfriend and i picked bunratty castle hotel because it was close to the banquet, we were on holiday as we had got engaged a couple of days beforehand. on arriving at the hotel which had at most, a half full car park ... we approached reception and i asked were there any deluxe rooms available due to the situation .. we were declined a deluxe due to the hotel being full ...? ....there is no way the hotel had given its allocation of deluxe rooms or suites.
the standard rooms are very very average and are nothing like what is displayed online.the airconditioning was showing as working but was completely inadequate.
there was no water in the room and there is a 5 euro charge on every room service order so if you wake in the middle of the night due to bad aircon you would have a 5 euro charge on top of your water .
the breakfast was very average as well, and when we asked on check in how long the drive to dingle was we were told between 1hr and 1.5hrs .... anyone will tell you this drive is 2.5 hrs at least .... overall not a very good experience

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaylorandSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The hotel was quite old but i feel this was no excuse for grubbiness, the walls of the corridor leading to our room were filthy, the room it's self was clean but dark and gloomy, the bathroom was spotless and very modern. The pool was tiny, very disappointing. The lifts didn't work for two days during our stay. \the food was poor. The staff were friendly and heplful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandLady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Reservation system is a mess. First charged us $100 more than advertised web rate. Had to cancel first reservation and a make a second. Room was horrendous- threadbare carpets and bed and bath linens, water-stained ceilings, peeling paint in bathroom and view over roof vents and construction areas. Dark. Dirty. Only positives were proximity to Bunratty Castle and Shannon airport.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT/DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We enjoyed our stay on our last night in Ireland. very convenient to folk park and banquet and Shannon airport..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed here during one night of our tour of Ireland. It had a nice feel to it - the decor had a country home feel to it, with the furniture and wall paper in that theme - but was clean and had modern conveniences (such as wi-fi, in the common area, an Angsana spa and gym).

We didn't explore Bunratty very much so don't know what else was around. But immediately adjacent to the hotel was Bunratty Castle Hotel (we had a great night there with a medieval dinner where you ate just with a knife and your hands), a pub and also Blarney Woollen Mills (where you could do some shopping for Irish goods and clothes).

Overall, it was an above average hotel. Slightly older, but still clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleYarYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This is a nice, comfortable, quiet, country hotel within a short walk of Bunratty Castle and a pub. Good, full Irish breakfast. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
432 reviews
12.3 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
839 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,309 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: $119 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing