We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunratty Castle was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bunratty Castle was OK”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Not anything special but quite satisfied with the hotel. Breakfast was terrible but service was good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    509
    282
    120
    69
See reviews for
387
528
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed for a long weekend with a large party. The position of the hotel, close to the castle, pubs and few tourist shops was good. The reception area was nice, breakfast was good, but the rooms were dark and although updated still needed work (peeling paint in bathroom, walls of bedroom very scuffed). Staff we encountered were helpful. Ideal for large party but wouldn't use for family break.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decksdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We recently returned from this hotel and I enjoyed it. Its close to the airport but that didnt matter to us anyway since we rented a car. The breakfast was good and they have a nice restaurant also. Durty Nellys across the street had a good restaurant upstairs. The room was small but we didnt really stay in the room much anyway except to sleep. The castle across the street has a fun dinner you can attend. The food there was so good!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiefly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel is close to Shannon airport and you can walk to Bunratty Castle.

The room we were given was large and clean. But the view out the window was disgusting. The view of the first floor roof looked like a junkyard and consisted of water logged deteriorated plywood covered heating/cooling duct work. We just closed the curtains and gave up with looking outside. The staff lacks the typical Irish appeal. This hotel caters to tour groups.

We had to check out early and so were given a continental breakfast consisting of bread, coffee, and a banana.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_ENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The Bunratty Castle is right across the street along with at least a couple pubs....
if these are your main interests of your stay then the location and hotel are just right.
The traditional buffet breakfast was quite good. Our room had all the usual modern conveniences and a comfy bed. The one flaw was that our room could have used some touch-up paint for scratches on various walls.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank opalriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Bunratty was our first stop so we were pretty exhausted. The staff was very accommodating and got us in our rooms asap. Short walk to Bunratty Castle and shopping.

Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronsmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

nice lobby, nice grounds, nice spa, dirty and stained room. The bedspread, blanket, and carpet was really stained and shabby. This hotel sells itself as luxurious, not!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jetsetdiva01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
412 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,178 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing