We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rooms and setting”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bunratty Castle Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyRosenbaum8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear your experience at Bunratty Castle Hotel.
We hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    492
    268
    114
    63
See reviews for
358
512
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level Contributor
280 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Convenient loacation to Bunratty Castle -- would only stay one night. Crowded with many tour groups and buses staying there. Rooms are dated, but will say they are working through the hotel to replace worn carpeting, etc. to spruce up. The breakfast buffet was very good -- only problem was the line fed in from two ends so the flow was not good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for your feedback I have noted all your comments. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Regards, Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Attended a wedding here recently. The hotel is lovely & the staff really friendly. We found the room warm, cosy, spotless & comfortable with lovely décor. Nice toiletries & plenty of towels etc.. the wedding reception was wonderful and the setting amazing. We really enjoyed the Irish music in the bar after the wedding had finished up. There is plenty to do close to the hotel - spa, wonderful food in the Creamery, shopping, the Castle & Folk park & of course Durty Nellys.. The only thing I didn't like were the sheets.. not sure if they are polyester or what but we were both saturated in sweat all night... this they could address fairly easily with cotton sheets. Other than that, a really lovely stay.. thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for informing us of your recent visit to Bunratty Castle Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, and had a great night at the wedding. I will inform the Accommodations Manager of this issue.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a one night stay on a Dinner B&B package. The room was nice with a very clean bathroom. The staff where friendly and the Food was excellent. The steam room was broken in the evening but working again the following morning.
Had a lovely time Thank You

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiefunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. Apologises for the inconvenience of the steam room.
We hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Checked in here for one night. First impressions the hotel lobby area looks impressive, but when we checked into our room it was really quite plain and simple and in need of a revamp. The TV was very small, old and really poor quality. When we tried to connect the wifi it didn’t work so I called down to the reception, the lady was quite rude, I guess she’s tired of getting the same phone call every day from guests who discover the wifi doesn’t work in their rooms. If it doesn’t work don’t advertise it.

The pool here is nice, clean but not very warm. Also the Jacuzzi had an out of order sign.
Did not eat at the hotel so can’t comment on the food. The air conditioning in the room was extremely loud, so loud i could not sleep until I got up and switched it off.

As we checked out we could hear another unhappy customer complaining about the wifi and the tv at reception.
I wont be in any rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dandoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay, we are updating our Wi-Fi, majority of the rooms have access, it is available in all public areas & there is no charge.
I also wish to apologise for the Jacuzzi being out of order, we did have an issue which has been fixed.
We hope if you do return to Bunratty you will have a much more enjoyable stay
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in December, the hotel was busy with a wedding, the bathroom had no hot water which they fixed, the spa!!!! the jacuzzi was warm no bubbles, the sauna and the steam room were broken and the pool was tepid.
The room had a lot of dust under the bed on the wardrobe, TV was tiny, no safe, not sure what star rating this place is but not worth more than a B&B status, the bar staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was ok but very busy.
We ate down the road in the Bunratty Manor and wish we had stayed there seemed more personal, we had got a special rate but still did not think it was worth it, feel this hotel is used as a place to stay before flying or after arriving in Shannon. if that is what you are looking for then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay as you can see from previous reviews we rank very high with customer satisfaction.
We hope if you do return to Bunratty you will have a much more enjoyable stay
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

On this trip, we stayed in hotels in Dublin, London, Paris and Lyon, all comparebly priced to the Bunratty Castle Hotel. This hotel ranked at the very top for this trip! The rooms were spacious and elegantly decorated. Hotel lobby and grounds looked like a high end luxury hotel, as they were absolutely beautiful! Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and shower was fantastic! The dining room was gorgeous, and breakfast was delicious. Hotel was located directly across from Bunratty Castle, which is a must see!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The Bunratty Castle Hotel .We appreciate your compliments to our dining .Thank you again for reviewing our Hotel . We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing