We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just had a beautiful meal in Bunratty Castle Hotel . From starters to main course everything was excellent , We had 17 in our group and staff treated us like we were the only one s there , everything was looked after and food was just fantastic , also staff so pleasant , we will surely use Bunratty Castle Hotel again for our next visit .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwife087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
We are delighted you and your group had a fantastic meal with us. Thank you for the lovely message. Looking forward to welcoming you & your group back to Bunratty Castle Hotel
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour, and while I was here for only a brief time (most was spent in nearby pubs and the Castle across the street) I will most certainly return. Room I was assigned was enormous (literally twice the size of one I had in Dublin) with an exceptionally comfortable bed, a great bathroom, and even robes and slippers for use on the grounds (they have multiple spa and related activities for those so inclined). Morning breakfast was nothing special, but the location was fantastic - literally across the street from Bunratty Castle, and next door to a great pub (the Creamery), across the street from another (Durty Nelly's) and next door to the local branch of Blarney Woollen Mills.

Room Tip: There are only two 'floors,' so the room numbering can get confusing - 400's are on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissrli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Bunratty Castle Hotel is just lovely - situated next to the ancient castle, with easy access to the Bunratty Folk Park and the Castle. There is a Blarney Woolen Mills onsite, as well as two great pubs/restaurants - The Creamery and Durty Nelly's. Both have a great deal of charm, but Durty Nelly's is definitely closer to a traditional pub atmosphere with small rooms and separate bar areas. You will need a car to get to any other town or attraction, however, but in all honesty everything we needed was right there. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed. Some rooms have a wonderful view of the castle and other surrounding historical buildings. Kathleen's Bar, which is within the hotel, was a nice spot to gather as well. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with the usual Irish breakfast, plus fruit and yogurt. They were decorating for Christmas when we were there and the lobby was gorgeous. No complaints at all with this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a night, ask for a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pscho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely comment reflecting your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and commented on our Christmas decorations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Lovely room and bathroom with all the amenities we needed
Good breakfast - pleasant staff
Only one minor issue. Restaurant was so warm did not want to linger in there. Close to bunratty castle

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D&LONTARIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Customer feedback is most appreciated. We will address the comment you have made in regards to the heating in the restaurant with the restaurant supervisor. Thank you for your kind words, we hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Myself and my husband are just back from our honeymoon from this hotel, we spent two nights here and I have to say it would have been so much nicer and more enjoyable if the reception and bar staff were friendly and polite. We found some of the staff to be very unprofessional. The breakfast wasn't great either. Hotel itself is really nice and they had the Christmas decor up so that was lovely. As for the spa this is amazing and the two girls in there are so nice and professional. I would highly recommend the spa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Please accept my sincerest apologies for your disappointing experience. I will bring this to the attention of each department’s manager; this issue will be addressed very strongly. However I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Angsana Spa. I do hope that if you return to the Bunratty Area that you would consider staying with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overpriced for the accommodations. Pub staff bar keep was rude to Americans. Only benefit was location to the castle and Durty Nellys. No wi-if in rooms. Television very limited.taxi to airport will tell you a fare is involved when it is not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you felt that our accommodation was overpriced, we feel we offer very competitive rates and often run accommodation offers on our website www.bunrattycastlehotel.com , we offer all local channels here in Ireland on our in rooms televisions, I will have a word with our Bar Manager about staff training however all of our bar staff have been here with us a number of years and we feel have high customer satisfaction ratings. We hope that if you return to the Bunratty Area you would consider us again.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is close to the Bunratty Castle and woolen mills, very nice decorated with lovely furnishings and comfortable beds. They had just finished decorating for Christmas which just added to the overall experience. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel following your stay, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
424 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
824 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: $129 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing