We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I am glad we didn't read the reviews before booking this hotel. We found our room to be clean, modern and well appointed. Possibly it was one of the renovated rooms. We asked for a quiet room when we made the booking and we weren't disappointed. We looked out on a pasture with cows which was fine with us. It was our last day in Ireland and we wanted to be walking distance to the Bunratty Castle and Folk Park so we could see them before leaving. We dined out, including breakfast, so we can't speak to the quality of the restaurants. However, we were a little disappointed breakfast was not included in the room price. We opted to eat breakfast at the airport. We enjoyed close by Durty Nellies for dinner where our waiter very closely resembled and acted like Jimmy Fallon of late night TV. We weren't the first to tell him that. There was plenty of parking, the staff was friendly and it only took 10 minutes to drive to the airport. The hotel met our needs.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for recently taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here with us. We do have rates available on all rooms that are both room only or Bed & Breakfast you may have opted for the room only rate hence the reason breakfast may not have been included.
I do hope that you will stay with us again if you are returning to the Bunratty Area.

Regards,
The Management Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    509
    282
    120
    69
See reviews for
387
528
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaghy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here one night just before a transatlantic flight in June and left our car there for 15 days. Check-in staff were very nice and advised us of food and entertainment options that night. We stayed in a family room with two very comfortable queen beds which was spacious and clean a really nice room with everything you would expect. Breakfast the following morning was very good indeed with a range of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and cooked. The hotel provided transport to the airport within the cost of the room and although we had to get a taxi back to pick up our car I still felt that the overall package was great value for money and I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am glad to hear that you found the check in staff so helpful and enjoyed your accommodation and amenities here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit.

Regards,
The Management Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is overpriced for quality of room you receive it's extremely outdated in furnishings and decor. For the 40euro a night I could have stayed in luxury B&B. I would highly suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan199616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you felt you did not recieve value for money, and that you felt that items in your room were dated. All our rooms are monitiored daily by our housekeeping staff and any furniture items that need replacing are always replaced, also in comparision to any B&B we have a lot of faciliites here at the hotel like our Leisure Club, our Angsana Spa, our Hair Salon, Kathleens Irish Bar and our newly opened Fibber McGees Steakhouse. I hope that if you are in the area again you would consider Bunratty Castle Hotel for your stay.

Regards,
The Management Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the hotel. Normal hotel room. Our luggage got lost at the airport, but we were assured that it would arrive the next day and would be sent to the hotel. When we checked into the hotel, we explained about the luggage and were told as soon as it arrived it would come directly to our room. Just as promised, our luggage was delivered to our room in a timely manner. The breakfast buffet was your run of the mill buffet. FYI: Bacon in Ireland is not the same as bacon in the US. Bacon in Ireland is ham.
While walking to breakfast the second morning, I noticed an old cemetery right behind the hotel. I went to investigate afterwards as I love old cemeteries. Many of the graves were so old that you couldn't read anything on them, but there were also current graves of Bunratty families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moakley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here. The front desk staff worked to get us in our room early because we were exhausted as had just flown in to Shannon Airport. Staff went above and beyond. Room and bed were a good size, which is not often found in Ireland. Clean and well-appointed hotel rooms and lobby. Very good breakfast as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

By this point in our Scotland/Ireland vacation we had stayed in several B&Bs/Hotels. The grounds and building were nice, very scenic. The rooms were not especially clean, hair on floor in bathroom. Stains on chairs. Rooms (we had two) were warm. Most annoying feature was the room doors. They all slam close in the last 4-5 inches. This results in door slamming all night by fellow guests unless they remember to "help" the door close quietly. Food was mediocre in the "new" steak restaurant, maybe they should bring back the Italian one. Food from bar/room service was very good. Breakfast was OK. Would stay there if flying in/out of Shannon, but wouldn't expect great things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and booked in for a massage in the spa. We went for a quick swim in the stunning pool prior to the massage and so were already starting to relax. There were 2 thai massage therapists working on the day we went and my fiance and I booked a 1 hour massage each and were very impressed and felt great afterwards. Once the massage is over you are taken to a relaxation area with couches to lie on in a darkened softly lit room with relaxing music and we were given fresh fruit to eat and an amazing ginger and honey tea. Fanatstic service and spa facilities!
Unfortunately we went to breakfast the following morning and were shown to our table where we felt ignored by the staff. We were half way through eating our buffet breakfast before we finally had to wave down a waiter to ask if we could get some coffee. The hot buffet food seemed cold and stale and they had run out of porridge and pancakes and I had to ask for more to be put out but the porridge never came. One of the young waiters seemed keen and pleasant but seemed to lack experience and the other looked decidedly bored. The dining room wasn't busy either and having just stayed at the Dunraven Arms Hotel in Adare where the service was impeccable this was a let down and also was more expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
412 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,178 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing