We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely weekend”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend here with family . lovely welcome from the receptionist. Nice big room overlooking the cemetry at the back . The group had been allocated 6 rooms on the same corridor which was a nice touch ..usually we are all over the place . There are lovely big couches in the foyer. Breakfast was excellent on the Sat morning but a total disaster on the Sun morning .The food in the overflow room was cold although staff did .their best to rectify this .They were really busy. Luckily we had been warned and this did not affect me or oh as we scurried across to the main dining . We ate in the restaurant on Sat eve and it was excellent . The food was delicious and the 2 ladies serving were a credit to the hotel .Both from NI. Also the lady serving in the bar. we also ate in the creamery just beside the hotel and it was also excellent. The hotel is in a lovely setting with a view of the castle from the front .
The swimming pool was nice and quiet on the two occasions that I visited . There is a Blarney Woollen Mills/Meadows and Byrne in the village so be sure to take plenty of spends as you should pick up a few bargins . There was a wedding on both days that we stayed and we did not hear a peep at nighttime . It was one of the quietest places I have stayed . I would return as would all of the family

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the front if a view of the castle is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayberDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    506
    279
    119
    66
See reviews for
378
524
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a 2 night stay here as I had a wedding there and decided to make a weekend of it.The wedding was fantastic and so was the hotel.Staff were all nice and helpful.The food in the restaurant was great,the breakfast was the only thing that let the hotel down,it was just ok,it lacked flavour but was edible.Rooms were spotless and spacious and swimming pool vey nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Wedding you were attending here and that you had time to enjoy the facilities. I will pass your comments on breakfast onto our Operations Team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The view of the graveyard from the hotel room is about the only nice thing this hotel has to offer... It was our most expensive hotel on the trip and definitely the least favorite... I would recommend going to Bunratty Castle, but not staying in Bunratty in the future... They tout that they have trad music, but it was not something any of us enjoyed...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhimsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here with us at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you found our rates high we have different competitively priced packages in our own website and available from the hotel reception.

I do hope that if you are in the Bunratty area again you will stay with us.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Bunratty Castle Hotel is located in the tiniest of towns which includes the Bunratty castle, 2 shops, and 2 pubs. The hotel itself was very nice and had a victorian feel to it. They were renovated rooms, but kept the medieval decor. My room had a cemetery outside of my window, which was a little strange. However, I walked around to it in the morning and it was beautiful outside. In my room, the toilet didn't really work, which was frustrating. My room was fairly large (most likely because it was out in the countryside). This hotel is nice because it is close to the highway, but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. The breakfast here was decent, but not the best I had in Ireland. Also, the best night of my vacation was spent in Bunratty because we all went over to Durty Nelly's. It was such an amazing pub full of history, lively music, and good beer! Overall, this hotel was classy and elegant and best of all, right next to a castle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am happy that you got to enjoy the convenient location of our hotel in the heart of Bunratty village. I do hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a 3-4 star hotel with not very good food. We were there with a 25 member tour group and saw a really good band..."Tazz" but the setting was poor and the fish and chips were bad. Friendly and helpful staff...rooms are a bit tired.
Can't be beat for location, with castle right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us and I will be passing your comments onto our Operations Manager and onto our Head Chef. I do hope that you will stay with us again should you return to the Bunrattty area.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only got to spend one night here but I am already planning a 2 night stay next month.From the moment we walked into reception everything was excellent.The staff were genuinely pleasant,helpful and professional.The bedroom was more 4 star than 3 with a lovely big king bed and a spotlessly clean large bathroom with separate bath and shower.we ate in the italian restaurant in the hotel and the food was delicious....and great value with our early bird meal only costing 50 euro for starters,mains and a bottle of wine.Plenty of choice the following morning from a large buffet of hot and cold breakfast choices.
it is perfectly situated for visiting Bunratty Folk park and great shopping in Meadows and Byrne right beside it.
as i only have to travel from Kerry it is nice and close at only a 1 and a half hour trip,so its perfect for a short break.
Can't wait to go back and next time use the Pool and Spa area...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much that you are coming back to stay with us again next month, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Bunratty.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although very expensive, it was worth it for a night just to say you stayed in a castle. The amenities were awesome. We stayed in other hotels throughout Ireland and then finished the week with the castle. It would have been way to expensive to stay there for more than a night, especially with a family of 5!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvozzo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities both here at the hotel and in the historic village of Bunratty, taking time to visit the castle and the folk park.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
407 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,286 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,152 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing