We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two day break off season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Newbridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Two day break off season”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner in February. The hotel was ok but the room was a bit tired. Staff were friendly. The buffet breakfast was good but not very warm and the plates were cold. The food in the bar was OK but a little over priced. €21 for a steak. €19 for lamb chops.
We were on a break which I bought on a deals website so it was still good value but I don't think I would return. All rooms are non smoking.
The food in the nearby pub "The Creamery" was very good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beau118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you feel you wouldnt return after your stay, unfortunately all rooms here at the hotel are non smoking so that guests are not greeted with smoke odours on entering their room and this policy is in place to ensure guest satisfaction, I have past on your comments in relation to breakfast to our operations team.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    485
    265
    114
    63
See reviews for
354
508
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Superior
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Arrived to the hotel without reservations and were able to obtain two rooms at a B & B rate of 90 Euros. Our rooms were fantastic at this rate! Very spacious, with a small sitting room. Huge king sized bed and very generous sized bathroom. They were THE best rooms of all the places that we had stayed on this holiday. The staff were very good and accommodating. The breakfast could have been better, not the most top notched in comparison to our other experiences, but we did get down to the breakfast late. Seem that the buffet food had been sitting for some time and items were a bit rubbery and tough. The only other drawback was no wifi in the room, only in the lobby areas. The lobby area did have comfortable seating areas though and that did help, just not ideal.

Room Tip: Room 218 was fabulous! Very spacious with a sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we are currently upgrading the WiFi system here in the hotel, so it is unforutnate that the room you were may not have been upgraded just yet. I have past on your comments in relation to the breakfast to our Operations Team. I do hope that if you are in the Bunratty area again that you would stay with us.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here with my partner during a short trip away to county Clare. We got a voucher for 2 nights costing us €100 which we found very competitive in todays marketplace. The rooms were very clean and the hotel was quiet and peaceful. The Staff were nice too! they were very helpful and accommodating. We had a view of farmer the fields and we could admire the lovely horses :) The hotel is near to Bunratty castle and there are nice pubs and restaurants nearby . The only downfall was that there is not much to do in the evening but I presume that is the case in the country side !
I will definitely I will come back :) 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking to time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted you got to avail of one of our offers for a 2 night stay over, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the surroundings. I hope that if you are in the area that you would consider staying with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunratty, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very helpful, the spa and pool area are amazing, not too busy.
Food at the bar and in the restaurant was ok but not the best we had during our stay.
More comfy pillows would be good

Room Tip: Rooms are of good size and standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you felt the food was not the best, I have past your comments onto our Operations team for review. I hope that if you are in the area again that you would consider returning to us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently following a wedding reception. Lovely sizeable room on front of the house, very clean and fine breakfast. Staff very obliging and friendly. Plenty of space with sofas and armchairs downstairs to relax. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I am delighted to hear that you will return to stay with us again.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while on our honeymoon. We got a very nice and spacious room for a very great price! There are a couple little shopping stores right next to the hotel, as well as Bunratty Castle and Durty Nelly's. We loved being able to walk over to Nelly's for a Guinness! There were 2 weddings being held during the 2 nights that we spent at the hotel. They did not interfere at all with our experience. The staff was pleasant. They've got a very nice workout room, pool, hot tub, steam and sauna rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here with us at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to choose our Hotel while on honeymoon in Ireland, we are ideally located in the heart of Bunratty Village close to the Castle, Durty Nellys and of course the Meadows & Byrnes store at the entrance to the hotel. I hope next time you return to Ireland that you will stay with us here again in the heart of the village of Bunratty

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quiggers
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Use this hotel on a regular basis for business travel.Always a welcoming and comfortable hotel.
Bar food pretty good,seem to have a lot of corporate/business types who fill the evening talking work........ah well. Lots of US tourists,who always demand a good standard of hotel.The hotel have upgraded WiFi and it works well throughout the hotel,a big plus for many.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, we have upgraded our WiFi in most sections of the hotel and the connectivity seems to have improved which our coorporate customers are delighted with. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
386 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,050 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,058 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,475 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing