We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Ireland”
Review of Bunratty Castle

Bunratty Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.94*
and up
Bunratty Castle and Folk Park Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: unratty Castle & Folk Park is a must on your itinerary to Ireland. This is your chance to experience a window on Ireland’s past and explore the acclaimed 15th century Bunratty Castle and the 19th century Bunratty Folk Park. Bunratty Castle Welcome to Bunratty Castle, the most complete and authentic medieval castle in Ireland. Built in 1425 it was restored in 1954 to its former medieval splendor and now contains mainly 15th and 16th century furnishings, tapestries, and works of art which capture the mood of those times. Bunratty Folk Park Enjoy the sights, sounds tastes, scents, of this enchanting place as you stroll from house to house or around the charming village street complete with school, post office, doctors house, hardware shop, printers and of course McNamara’s pub! meet the village characters, sample some freshly baked bread by our resident Bean an Ti's (woman of the house) and for little visitors explore of quaint fairy village and pirate adventure playground
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best meal in Ireland”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband had gone to Bunratty 20-something years ago and wanted to go back because of fond memories of the place. Unfortunately, visiting during off season we were not able to view the park at all and there was a tour group of several hundred that filled the whole place except for 8 people at one table, including us. When we were coming in, one of the staff yelled at me and tried to put me in with the other group.

I highly recommend the vegetarian meal. The food was excellent. The main dish was some kind of quiche and it was the best meal I had on our entire trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,864
    880
    245
    70
    34
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
453 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
“Bunratty Castle & Folk Park”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Bunratty Castle & Park is a step back in time. After purchasing our tickets at the Visitor Center & Gift Shop, we proceeded to explore the Folk Park before heading to the Castle which was built in 1425. In the Folk Park you will find farmhouses, a watermill, a church and a magical walled garden. The trees were just coming into blossom and it was a beautiful place for a stroll.

The Castle itself has many steps which are much easier to climb than Blarney Castle because of a handrail and the stairs themselves being wider and easier to navigate. You can visit the Banquet Hall and several other rooms where you will find guides in period costume ready and willing to answer questions. The Castle contains some interesting 15th and 16th century furnishings and beautiful tapestries adorn the walls.

There is a large parking area, a tearoom inside the Park, restrooms are available in the Visitor Center, and a wonderful little shopping mall across the street offering locally made items such as Waterford Crystal and Irish Woolen items. And don't miss having lunch at Durty Nelly's just down the way a bit. Plan to spend at least a couple of hours at Bunratty Castle.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun and educational.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We thought this would be hokey, but found it interesting. The restored castle is fun to explore with knowledgable docents. The folk park gives you a look into an Irish village of 100 years ago. There are a couple of small shops with good prices. I enjoyed the pottery shop where everything is made by a local family.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Folk Park not quite there”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had had a great banquet at the Bunratty Castle the previous night and wanted to explore the grounds of the folk park in the morning. Having already been to the castle we were more interested in the grounds and the recreation of a medieval setting. It has the potential to be a very good attraction but did not deliver. It just seems a bit tired, run down and lacking the energy that you felt would be part of the experience. This wasn't helped by the untidy grounds, lack of staff, no in-character actors (which is advertised), incorrect numbering of the features to the brochure and multiple areas being closed to the public.

Please make sure there is staffing in the castle especially to help the flow in and out of stairwells.

It is still worthwhile but some work and commitment is needed to bring it up to the advertising promises.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
308 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Park recently. I brought a family group from Australia to see how Ireland used to be, and they really enjoyed it. The castle is lovely and in condition, the grounds are beautiful and the various houses on the grounds are interesting to get a perspective of how Ireland used to be. Well worth the visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunratty Castle also viewed

 
Bunratty, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 

Been to Bunratty Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing