We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunratty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very comfortable!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in one of these "cottages"--really a Townhouse--for 6 nights, booked through Sceptre Tours. It was perfect and extremely clean! There are 3 bedrooms, 2 upstairs and both ensuite, and one downstairs with a full bath. There is a living room, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and a small washer/dryer combo. The beds were wonderfully comfortable, and the grounds were quiet--although we were there in the off season. Bunratty is a good spot to tour from. Nearly everything you want to see is within a 1 - 3 hour drive. There is a brand new Tesco grocery store nearby that supplied ALL our needs, and the prices were great, especially compared to eating and drinking out. The Tesco store is 15 minutes away towards Limerick--bear left on the road before the tunnel. Do not go into the tunnel. Exit before that to the left and you will see it. Joan was wonderful upon check in and in getting the Wifi running and in loaning us a coffee pot! This is not a 5 star hotel, but I hate noisy hotels anyway. This is just a comfortable home-away-from-home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in January in a 3 bedroom cottage. The heating was on for our arrival and it was lovely and comfortable. The cottage was clean and well equipped with all mod cons. It is perfect for a family. The cottages are right beside Bunratty Castle. The location was ten minutes by car from Limerick city and a perfect base for exploring the many attractions that Counties Clare and Limerick have to offer. The price was very reasonable and the children had a great time...many activity centres in Limerick and Ennis. The only small negative was that there was no parking directly outside the cottage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMcDKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here through Sceptre tours. The 3 bedroom/3 bathroom cottage was adorable. It was so nice to have a "home" base. Having a living room to hang out in on the nights we didn't go to pubs was very comfortable. The well equipped kitchen was very helpful for a quick breakfast before exploring for the day. We found everything to be attractive and in good order. If we ever go to this area again I would definitely look to stay here again. The only thing to mention is that there is, for the most part, not any parking by your townhouse so dragging our bags of groceries and such was not ideal. You can pull up to your unit to unload but sometimes maneuvering back out was a trick because some people parked on the narrow road even though they ask you not to. But overall the townhouse was great and the area is just beautiful. I don't think you can go wrong here, especially if traveling with family or other couples.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Booked a Sceptre special with air/car/rooms. Four of us shared a 2-story cottage on Oct 18. Yes, 3 bedrooms and 3 baths! Kitchen was well equipped and living room had wifi and TV with a dining room table. Not very many units were occupied in the 'off' season. Units have been repainted within 3 yrs--not a Hilton but better than Motel 6. It was nice to have kitchen cooking ability altho you could save $$ by bringing coffee/tea from home. We shopped at nearby Tesco and Aldi, prices higher than USA. The cottages are close to the interstate and Shannontown and Limerick for shopping. There didn't seem to be anyone at the reception desk as we picked up our keys and info at the Durty Nellies bar down the street. (their Irish coffee was EXCELLENT!) Would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I and two of our daughters (ages 24 and 17) visited Ireland in early July. The Bunratty was part of out vacation package and I must say it turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. Don't let first impressions turn you off. When driving in the place looks deserted. Our townhouse was very comfortable. Having 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms gave us all of the space we needed. And it was nice having a kitchen and living room. It was clean and the management was very accommodating. The manager even checked on a day trip to the Aren Islands for us. The location was perfect for us in keeping the driving to less than 2 hours each way for the sights we wanted to see. The beds were comfortable and I especially liked being able to open my window at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel 05 mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We are staying here now. It's great. I agee with all the recent positive comments so I'm not going to re-post. It is very clean and close to Shannon, and restaurants. We especially like that after long day of touring we can always eat here. Sometimes we just didn't find a place for dinner because we didnt want to randomly stop. We knew we had Durty Nellys, JP clarkes, Gallaghers and the Creamery here. All are a 2 minute walk away. The short walk is nice too after sitting in the car for a few hours. The food is great at all of them and there is something for all eaters-even picky ones.
Tips: bring a wash cloth-they supply towels but no wash cloth
Laundry washer is very small like 1 jeans and 3 t-shirts per load
They supply dish detergent, sponge and 2 loads of dishwasher and laundry detergen
They dont supply a blow dryer. They did supply a coffee pot. You may want to bring your own coffee.
There is a food store nearby by car. Not a huge selection but we are spoiled in America.
Could not find paper towels, napkins or paper plates! We did survive.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. We were in the far back. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbhalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

i totally disagree with all of the negative reviews. the townhouse is a great value for the money. we went in may with another couple who had kids. it was a really great central location in western ireland ideal for day trips to the north or south. the townhouse was very clean, comfortable and modern, and the reception folks were lovely and very accommodating. ok so the showers were a bit small but so what, obviously this is not a 4 star resort but the price does not suggest that it is! i really do not understand all the negative reviews at all. my only complaint is the loud crows that live in the trees at the closed shannon shamrock hotel next to the townhouse complex. there are also 3 nice bars within walking distance of the townhouses as well. great place to stay with family as the bunratty castle park is right down the street. we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth33ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallows View
Gallows View
#12 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunaree
Dunaree
#4 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Gardens Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Gardens Holiday Homes

Property: Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
Address: Bunratty Shannon Shamrock Hotel | Limerick-Ennis Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bunratty
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Gardens Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing