We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moules et frites in Bunratty”
Review of Durty Nelly's

Durty Nelly's
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Durty Nelly’s is one of Ireland’s most famous pubs and offers a truly unique Irish experience through its history and character. Often copied but never replaced, this truly unique piece of Irish heritage dates back to 1620. Enjoy the craic agus ceoil at the world-renowned Durty Nelly’s where we offer live Traditional Irish music every weekend, host festivals all year ’round, and even welcome a few celebrities on occasion!Durty Nelly’s is famed for our extensive and great-value menus in The Bar, Loft & Oyster Restaurants. Whether it be a quick bite or a special meal, our top-class chefs will cater to every taste and budget, providing an unforgettable dining experience.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Moules et frites in Bunratty”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Busy, friendly, typically Irish. Magnificent location, right next to the castle and the river. Good food. Efficient and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sylbob it looks like you enjoyed the Mussels which is one of our signature dishes and you enjoyed the atmosphere also. Hopefully we will see you again for more Moules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    514
    204
    67
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent Meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We drove by earlier in the day when Bunratty Castle was still open and the place was very busy. We returned later in the evening after the castle had closed and the buses were gone and there were only a handful of people there. The steak was tender and flavorful, not gourmet, but very good. The staff was very friendly and even opened the closed gift shop for us to buy t-shirts and souvenirs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Great to here that even though it was busy when you first passed you came back and enjoyed the experience. Some people love it here when it is busy and some when it is a little quieter. Maybe you will think of a return visit when you wear your T shirt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lots of history, plenty of Guiness”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our meal was adequate, the beer was fine, but my wife saw a silverfish crawling in the wall. That spoiled her meal. Other than the historical aspect of the building, it wasn't that special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Boffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sorry Mister_Boffo you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us. As for the silverfish as you say it is a historical building and the walls are almost 400 years old so you can get a small amount of insects but rest assured we have very good pest control in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Close to Bunratty Castle great for a drink and a rest!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great for a bite to eat and a drink we had lunch here which was lovely, but we were chased away by bees, I think we sat to close to a huge flower pot! My husband then accidentally threw coke across the table which encouraged more to come! Hahaha

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks angels, unfortunately nature is out of our control re. the bees but glad you liked it here at Durty Nelly's. Next time you can enjoy your drink and food inside and not share it with the bees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit and great scenery.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We were involved in a charity drive recently and the management were more than helpful and friendly.
The food was beautiful and there was a great buzz about the place as tourists and locals mixed.
Staff were friendly and very attentive and chatty.
My only gripe was the cost of soft drinks.
However the shop outside was great value.
Looking forward to a return visit (the Guinness looked just divine)

    • Value
Helpful?
Thank clinton_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Nelly's also viewed

 
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Durty Nelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing