We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dooley's

Dooley's
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Tramore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
waterford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

this is the best chip shop in Tramore, meal prices are not bad, staff very efficient and most importantly the food is delicious yum!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwaterfordlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    12
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Local Chipper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Dooley's Fish and Chip Shop is a great take away located at Main Street, Tramore. Taking over from the famous Cunningham Brothers a number of years ago Dooley's has restored the establishment to its former glory and has successfully put its own stamp on the much loved local fish and chip shop. The food is fresh and tasty with generous portions at a regular price. The burgers are the best around and the snack boxes are unbeaten. The chicken fillet burger is unmatched and they always hire local youths from the town which is great to see. Five stars. If I had one gripe it would be that the battered sausages are tiny but it's only knit picking. Keep it up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burke84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stopped for a quick dinner and are glad we did! We looked at Dooley's and there was a long queue. We debated and a fellow outside commented 'it's the best Fish and Chips going'. He was right. All freshly cooked and wrapped properly. Best chips I've had since I moved to the UK 10 years ago!! They certainly know what they are doing. It's a shame though that it is only take away...we ate in the car! But, still a fabulous meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Biggest queue for fish & chips I've ever seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just at the endof the prom is Doolys chipper. We had heard it was worth the wait and so we queued for 40 minutes. To be honest we were tired after the day on the beach and in the amusements is by the time we got our food hunger had passed and we were cranky! Was it worth the wait? No. It's just like other chippers and nothing special. The scampi is not real scampi (prawns) but a white fish in batter and you pay 30c for a sachet of ketchup.

What was good was being able to stroll across the road nd sit on the slip watching the water and eating!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“eileenklouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

got takeaway chips to go with our home cooked meal here last week and they were what old style proper chippy chips should taste like. Such a change from the matchstick tasteless variety of chips all to often served up these days. Well done Dooleys

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dooley's also viewed

Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 

Been to Dooley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing