We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eileenklouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dooley's

Dooley's
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Tramore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“eileenklouth”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

got takeaway chips to go with our home cooked meal here last week and they were what old style proper chippy chips should taste like. Such a change from the matchstick tasteless variety of chips all to often served up these days. Well done Dooleys

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    12
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My first experience with fish and chips and they were greasy and so good. I don't know if I should be reviewing since I was beyond hungry (jet lagged) but I have to say that they are open until 12am and that is wonderful for travelers! :D

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great take-away”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This has to be the best chipper in Tramore food is great and the service is good and very fast well done Dooleys

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayden2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tramore shop hands down is my favourite”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I have always loved Dooleys. I got so excited when I heard about the waterford city shop opening at the peoples park but it is just not the same as having the chips in Tramore (might have something to do with the seaside smell) but thats just my opinion. I love their food and the constant que in the summer months every year just proves it is a big hit with all and will hopefully continue to be as popular. It is 1 of the things I look forward to when i hear the name Tramore..

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Val-BAYR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“staff that don't want to be there”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Dooley's service had been declining so much lately. Portions are smaller, greasier and the latest after my trip today is a 'kid' boy working there that CLEARLY does not want to be there. Half listened to my order, I was still telling him when he had his back turned to me. No smile, but more of a grunt. When telling me what was in the bag he was wrong, and had to change it to what I said originally, then a second time was wrong again. With no apology, no thank you from him I left with my order. Had to drive to Dunmore with it and with all the messing around by him it was cold. We get a Dooley's every week and travel to Dunmore and it manages to stay warm enough. He never even wrapped the boxes. Staff like this really turn people off. I spent €29 and so sorry I did. He should get a job somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank munchie223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dooley's also viewed

Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 

Been to Dooley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing