We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Room Restaurant

Garden Room Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 34 Restaurants in Tramore
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The beautifully ppointed Garden Room Restaurant offers panoramic views of Tramore Bay and Brownstown Head. The menu is a celebration of the freshest of local produce with an equally impressive wine list to suit the most discerning palette. Our Head Chef and his team are passionate about food and ensure that only the freshest and best locally sourced quality produce is used in traditional Irish as well as classic international dishes. Having received the Taste of Ireland award for 2013 and 2014, the restaurant is listed as one of a number of recommended places to eat in Ireland by acclaimed Michelin star chef, food critic and writer, Paolo Tullio.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A group of us booked in for Easter Sunday lunch. We felt quite rushed to place our order and it came very quickly. Whilst the food was very nice, and the roast beef went down well, the quantity was not huge and two small scoops of mashed potato should have been accompanied by roasties! The staff were friendly but obviously not enough on and they were rushed off their feet. One member of our group had to leave the table in search of a waiter! Overall, good food but not enough, friendly staff but again not enough. It didn't make for the relaxing Sunday family meal we had looked forward to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGRB182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Garden Room Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear MGRB182,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Thank you for your comments " the food was very nice & the roast beef went down well" , my apologies if you found the quatities small, it is our policy to check on tables to see if everything is to your satisfaction & if need be we can provide more food.
Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff.
My apologies that you felt we were under staffed, we are currently recruiting staff to rectify this.

Kind Regards

Mark Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay & great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here previously & wouldn't even bother to check the other hotels in town. Have always felt welcome & I must say the food has improved a lot since last time. Lovely place & Definitely come back again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayneo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Garden Room Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Wayneo8,

Thank you for your kind review. Our newly appointed Executive Chef will be happy to hear that his new menu & food is finding favour with our customers.

Regards

Mark Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
577 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Could do a lot better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had great hopes when we went into the Garden Room last night. Unhappily our hopes were let down when the starters proved acceptable but the main courses included a selection of dried fish (hake and salmon), so-so beef, and very average pork. The chicken was covered with an overly salted brown sauce that added nothing to the dish, except perhaps to disguise any flaws in the chicken. The six-ounce sirloin was the best of a not-so-great selection. All of this was accompanied by three different kinds of potato (an Irish specialty) and watery vegetables where the carrots merged into the other indeterminate bits. All seemed to have been boiled into submission. At least, there was no bite in anything. Desserts were largely ignored on the basis that what had gone before was unlikely to be improved upon. Coffee was brown and warm. Perhaps they had an off night or maybe this is the normal standard. It's sad if the latter was true because I had really hoped that Irish hotel cuisine had moved on from the bad old days of the 1970s when it was acceptable to throw out meals whose only attribute was the size of the portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, Manager at Garden Room Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear 12Knocksinna

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your views on our dinner menu. Your comments have been passed on to our chefs who assure me they will take them on board.

We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant in the future.

Your sincerley,
Mark Whelan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anything but Majestic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Arrived at 8pm on Tuesday night to an area devoid of atmosphere but a lovely setting. The waitress "had the staggers," slurred her words, had difficulty understanding the order, provided water but no tumblers. The starter courses were acceptable but the main courses of roast beef were the worst we have experienced in Ireland. The waitress dropped dishes and rattled crockery in the background, clumsily plonked things onto the table, dropped an open bottle of red wine, then brought another but not the one ordered and had to replace it, so the meal was half over by the time we got the wine. She "threw" the empty bottles into a bin so it sounded like the back of a pub after closing time. We didn't bother with desert as our few neighbours left most of theirs on their plates. The experience was "amusing" in a perverse sort of way but "Pathetic" would be a better name for the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimboe737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Garden Room Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Jimboe737,
I was extremely upset and disappointed to read your comments about your recent dining experience with us.
The conduct of the waitress in question was totally regrettable and inexcusable and my sincerest apologies for this.
If I can do anything to redress the situation please feel free to contact me.

Yours sincerely
Mark Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A lovely place to enjoy a meal, portion size massive!!! A wide variety of food and drink... the beer batterd cod was delicious...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gemini_lou20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Room Restaurant also viewed

Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 

Been to Garden Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing