We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and comfortable place to stay in Tramore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cloneen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Tramore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A friendly and comfortable place to stay in Tramore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Maria’s welcome was warm and friendly, the room clean and comfortable with free wifi, adequate parking in the grounds or on the quiet street, and every effort made to fit in around the needs and requirements of guests. Cloneen is situated about a 10-minutes walk from the town centre (and a bit longer uphill on the way back) but the newly opened coastal walk makes a very pleasant stroll of it. And the excellent full-Irish breakfasts kept us going right through the day. Tramore itself offered plenty of choice of pubs/restaurants, a lovely long beach for evening strolls (and a fairground and other typical seaside facilities if that’s the sort of thing you’re looking for).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crwydrgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
89
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Company who booked this B&B told us it was right on the beach and would be our ideal last night in Ireland, a place that we would absolutely love. Tramore appears to be a place much like our Ocean City boardwalk area in Maryland, where locals go to get away during summer. Visible was a carney type atmosphere at the base of the little town, and absolutely no establishments that we wanted to investigate. The beach itself is pretty enough for picture taking purposes simply by virtue of the endless wave swells that roll in. Cloneen is on the same street as the Ireland Coast Guard station, but at the opposite end - not near the ocean cliffs and having absolutely no view of the ocean at all. We were sadly disappointed to drive all the way from Kilkenny down through Waterford to Tramore only to spend our last night in Ireland with less than an anticipated view of ocean meeting land. The room was suitable and comfortable. The breakfast room could have been a bit cleaner, as there were some dead mosquitoes along the window sills and the rug area. Breakfast was standard norm. Our hostess was very sweet and recommended a good dinner stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Cloneen for one night only but time permitting we definitely would stay for longer. Maria and Neil were extremely obliging, not only assisting us with some washing but use of a the guest lap-top rather than just the usual Wi-Fi access also provided the convenience of needing minimal luggage. Our room at the front of the house was very bright and sunny and the gardens just lovely. A credit to our hosts who are obviously quite experienced, yet still trying to improve the property. We would have scored Cloneen as excellent, but parking is a little tight and we have had better showers. No complaints about Maria's breakfasts though - absolutely first class.

Room Tip: Front of house if possible to enjoy the lovely sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for a surfing weekend in Tramore. This is one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in across Ireland. A lovely house with lovely owners. Beautiful cliff walk into Tramore town only took a few minutes. Our room was great and breakfasts were great too. Good mix of people staying but was really quiet at night. Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackFromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a truly lovely B&B! You will not find many nicer. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Just the right amount of care given, plenty of attention but not fussy. Stay, you will be glad you did! Breakfast was great, too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here reading reviews and thought it was excellent. We also had stayed in B&B's right round Ireland &found this one of the best. Very upmarket, easily 4 star, plush rooms, very comfy, lovely decor. Great brekkie. Thanks for a lovely stay, highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodbarryHealesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Where do I start, wonderful, fantastic, very welcoming, spotlessly clean and extremely friendly. Beautiful walks from the front door, Tramore town within walking distance. Very quiet location. Balcony with all rooms. Very comfortable rooms and very comfortable beds. Just cannot fault it. We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: all are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.4 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
7.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tramore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Haven House
Beach Haven House
#2 of 11 in Tramore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenorney by the Sea
Glenorney by the Sea
#1 of 11 in Tramore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloneen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloneen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloneen Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cloneen Love Lane, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloneen Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run home in quiet location yet within walking distance of restaurants, pubs, along the famous Doneraile Walk enjoying breathtaking views of Tramore Bay. Waterford Crystal is a short drive away. All rooms are en-suite, some doubles with balconies, tea/coffee, hairdryers. Guest sun lounge with complimentary internet access. Private secure parking - all major credit cards accepted and travel agent vouchers. We are tourist board approved and AA4**** selected. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cloneen Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloneen Hotel Tramore
Cloneen Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing