We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel during the summer in July. When we first entered our room it was very nice, although I decided to have a peek through things. As I went to have a look in the drawer in which there was a cigarette. I suspected it to be Weed. Although things got worse throughout the night. After I came home from the swimming pool and went to have a nice hot shower the water seemed to be cold. When we went to sleep we constantly heard people downstairs in the bar that were drunk and the nightclub also. This made it very hard to get asleep. The Fire alarm also went off once or twice which alarmed me although there was no fire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yasmine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    4
    3
    18
See reviews for
29
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on the 15th & 16th August for a short break. Have tried for years to book into this hotel but was always booked out in August. Last year it was closed down completely which was a great loss to visitors to Tramore. It only reopened 3 months ago and i presume we only got the booking because everyone thought it was closed. The room we got was a double and for Euro 75 per night was very good value. Breakfast was not included. We did have breakfast which we paid for seperately but would skip it next time. Have breakfast in O'Sheas.The Sands is very central to everything and I would recommend it. The night we arrived we were warned about the noise of the disco but the rain was so bad and the wind so noisy we didnt hear a thing. will stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 319 which was on the 3rd floor. A spacious room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairemarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Its great to see Sands Hotel open again to the public. This has been a favourite haunt of ours for many years. We just keep going back for the great service, and friendly staff.
Bar food is excellent value. Music on weekends in the bar with a great athmosphere. Great location, and a very helpful owner. Well done to The Sands Hotel. Keep up the good work, and hopefully the sun will shine soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planner108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Tramore is a beautiful friendly place and fantastic beach but I stay in The Sands hotel regularly. I keep going back there because of a lot of reasons. Its friendly down to earth staff is the jewel in its crown, once you go to check in a girl Steph is welcoming and friendly and you go to the bar and regular barman Steve is a great personality behind the counter and you would never feel like your on your own sitting at the bar Once you visit once they will remember your name and always make you feel welcome. It has a lovely resteraunt and 2 bars and a modern trendy nightclub which would be a massive venue in a major city all under one roof so you never need to leave the the premises. Its location is perfect only minutes from shops, ammusments, and beach. A lot of the staff are long term so customer service is consistantly at a high standard and the manager Ann-Marie is always very friendly and helpful. Would totally reccomend this hotel to stay wether its business or pleasure and is family friendly

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I had room 318 this year which is situated right over the nightclub so you won't get any sleep until 2.00 am at weekends so beware of this. The hotel is however good value for money with excellent bar food and friendly staff. I would have preferred a better choice on the breakfast table including some fruit and yoghurts however the full Irish however is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roseoftramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Had a wonderful stay in the sands was told on arrival that food was still been served, have to say food in the bar was excellent, We had room on the 3rd floor big room bathroom a bit small but spotless. Breakfast was served till 10.30 so was able to have lie in. Brekfast was lovely and plenty on plate and nice and fresh . Male served us very plesant . Went for a walk around beautiful beach went up the town and out to the new tesco. Arrived back to hotel to watch rubgy match sat beside a lovely open fire what more could you ask for . Also music their that weekend. If i had to complain it would be that no ramp at doors and think a menu at breakfast saves asking what they have.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelylaoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Wow what a great experience. From the minute we checked in to the time of our departure, the hotel staff could not have been friendlier. The food was fabulous with an amazing carvery which is great for the kids as you can have your dinner immediately. They also did great bar food aswell and the Sands bar is very relaxing and very family friendly, however I would recommend this hotel for anyone - couples, families, it caters for everyone. Well done thanks for making our holiday so very enjoyable we will be back again soon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBGvoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.1 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
290 reviews
7.0 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
493 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,124 reviews
7.4 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Property: The Sands Hotel
Address: The Sands Hotel Strand Road, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Irish Sea, The Sands Hotel is just 100 metres from the beach. An en suite bathroom and TV are included in each room at The Sands Hotel, and some feature views of the sea .Food and drink can be enjoyed in the on-site bar, which features live music on weekends. Waterford city centre is just 11 km away and the Comeragh Mountains are less than an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Tramore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing