We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Irish welcome, gorgeous house & lovely hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenorney by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 12 Tramore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Irish welcome, gorgeous house & lovely hosts!”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Thank you Marie for such a warm Irish welcome...your house is beautiful and so clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our one nights stay and wished it had been for longer. Mum & Ian are still talking about it every day...you made them feel special and that means so much! It really made our holiday. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    38
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
99
160
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My husband and I decided to stay in Tramore, after visiting Waterford for the day and before our final 2 days in Dublin. It was a one night stop on our honeymoon and we wished it was for two. Marie and her husband are so nice and the house is simply gorgeous. Its a quick 5 minute cab ride or drive to the city center. We asked Marie for a dinner suggestion and she very kindly booked us into The Pine Room. It was the best dinner we had. The next morning, she made us a delicious breakfast (if you go, ask her to make you some pancakes because they were fantastic). All in all, we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachna0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The view outside our window was wonderful (ocean). My cousin and I spent one night and it was quiet and peaceful. The following morning, we had a problem (one of the windows had been "smattered") and Marie was so helpful getting our problem almost corrected. She is very good at taping broken windows! We did not have to call anyone because she did all the work. Thank you, Marie, for helping us and a great night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed stayed in Glenorney last month and it was our very first Bed and Breakfast experience in Ireland and it set a high standard for the rest of our trip. We booked this B&B based on the high reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. Marie and Willie were very personable and helped with the questions we had on sight seeing in the area and directions to our next destinations which were Cork/Kerry. Our room was spotlessly clean with a fantastic view of the sea. The breakfast was spectacular - especially the home made brown bread and fruit salad. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Ireland and would highly recommend Glenorney.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou2USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Recently stayed in Glenorney & I would highly recommend this Breakfast & Bed. We had a magnificent view from our room which was extremely clean. We received a very warm welcome from Marie who was also very helpful giving us ideas on where else to go. I must admit the breakfast was great and portions very generous. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My cousin and just got back from a two-week car tour of Ireland and we stayed with Marie for one night. The facility is beautiful and it was like an oasis after a long day of traveling. When we woke the next morning, a landscaper came to Marie and let her know that a rock had somehow shattered one of our car windows. Instead of sending us off with a "good luck", Marie personally rang the rental car company and arranged to have a car delivered to us at our next destination. She then proceeded to tape up the window so it wouldn't be so breezy. She didn't have to do that but she wanted to make our trip easier and less stressful. Thank you, Marie, for your genuine Irish hospitality and I would not hesitate to recommend Glenorney to anyone traveling through Tramore and Waterford Co.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2fites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for 1 night and had a terrible experience. I accidentally messed up some of travel plans. Instead of trying to accomodate us, the owner made us pay for two nights. She sent us into town to use the telephone to fix the rest of our travel arrangements instead of trying to help us and my husband saw a cockroach in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorney, Owner at Glenorney by the Sea, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Reviewer omitted to mention that their first cancellation due to volcanic ash was accomodated without charge. Then after booking again, reviewer failed to show on next booking date without a phone call to cancel. They arrived the following night and were charged a minimal fee for the no show the previous night. Normally full rate is charged for no shows, especially during high season, but they were charged almost half price. Cockroaches are not commonplace in Ireland and have never been in these premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
8.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
7.9 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tramore
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenorney by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenorney by the Sea

Property: Glenorney by the Sea
Address: Newtown, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenorney by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Gold Stars,Award winning luxurious home, panoramic sea views. Extensive menu. FREE wireless connection in bedrooms, FREE internet access available. Gold Stars highest rating. Spacious, well appointed bedrooms. Recommended by all top guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenorney by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing