We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice hotel”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just spend there 1 night. We choose this hotel for holidays for people with disability for 2 days. There was 4 of us. We booked 4 rooms. 3 of the rooms were great with new TV, lovely bathrooms, new carpets. 1 (121) of the rooms was not so nice, old bathroom, no carpet, old TV with only few channels. Cannot understand why price of all rooms was same?
Apart of that our stay was nice.
Good food in restaurant, tuna steak bit dry.

Room Tip: not 121, maybe have a look your room first before move in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maya1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tramore1, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Maya1972,


I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry you didn't get one of our updated rooms. We are in the process of replacing all TVs with the introduction of Saorview in October but unfortunateoly we just hadn't reached room 121 by the time of your stay. We are glad to say all our rooms now have new 32" flat screen TVs. We would be delighted to welcome you back with your group anytime.

Mark Whelan
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hotel is a stroll from the beach, cafe, pubs and Tramores famous surfing clubs. Sun world waterpark is opposite with extra discount when you stay at the Majestic . Those who don't drive Bus Eireann stops across the road, parking is ample and free. Amusements are 5 mins away and at night time we don't hear anything , if your lucky to get sea view it's breathtaking on a clear day. Family of four travelled at the end of June and had sunshine the whole weekend. This is our second year back. Love waking up to have our breakfast in a large and bright dining room. Staffvare cheerful and helpful and do drop back and check up on our breakfast. WiFi is free downstairs which kept my daughter happy during our visit. Tea drinkers and had no problem getting extra tea n Fresh Milk at no extra charge. Rooms big enough for 4 with a double and two singles. Wedding on while we where there and bar staff made a point of serving us our dinner in the middle of it.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Majestic has to be the best hotel in tramore its location is brilliant right beside the beach an shops an amusements. The staff are great very helpful eith any travel plans while u stay plus the entairtainment every nite is good

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayheavin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at the majestic which cost us €120 a night. We stayed in a horrible room that had a wooden floor which allowed our creaky bed to roll forward as it was on wheels, every movement caused a gap for our pillows to sink into. There was a noisy extractor fan outside and we could not open our windows for the noise of it and at that the room was too hot. The t.v was snowy. For that price i would expect a bit of luxury have often stayed in places for less and got more comfort out of.
Food:i ordered cod and chips for €13 , half my plate was salad tiny portion of chips with the fish over it, it was nice but did not fill me at all. ordered again and asked for just a small amount of lettuce on the side, got back half a plate of lettuce which was not nice. others with me thought food was ok but nothing special at all for the money and had felt it was not fresh.
I Found myself waiting a while to be served at the bar as oaps got served before me even though i was waiting the longest which gets annoying after a while . we asked to change our room but the reception said they were fully booked it not offer any discount at all! this happened once before and we were given complimentary dinner so they do not value your custom at all here. breakfast was nice but had to wait 10 mins to make my own toast . no facilities no gym. DISCOUNT AT SPLASH WORLD VERY POOR ONLY €3 OFF! easily stay in the b+bs next door in future!

Room Tip: i recommend for a family to rent a summer house if staying longer, b and b for shorter stays or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooner-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tramore1, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Mooner-pie,
Thank you for your review.
So sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. Our wooden floors in bedrooms are new and considered more hygenic than carpet but thank you for pointing out that your bed moved easily and the situatiion has now been rectified by locking these wheels. Our extractor fans are only operational during meal times so should not have prevented you opening your window at night when rooms can get warm. You mention you got too much salad as opposed to chips but we are finding more and more customers are going for the healthier optiion. Sorry if you were waiting to be served after some OAPs at the bar but it is a very busy time of the year and we are quite happy if our bar staff are respectful and patient with older people.

Yours sincerely

Mark Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here in July for 1 night and weren't dissapointed, Rooms were lovely and clean, Breakfast was gorgeous and staff were very helpful and friendly, Will return to this hotel when we return to Tramore!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in the Majestic Hotel for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The staff were really helpful and very friendly. We had my elderly Mum with and we asked for easy access to lifts etc and all our requests were met. Mum's room had a beautiful view of the lake and sea which she was delighted with (room 120). We had a family room with a double and two single beds (room 130) great size room for a family - lots of space but to the back of the hotel so no view. My only down point was that the rooms could do with a little upgrading, very basic and the bathroom was quite shabby in need of desperate updating but in all the rooms were clean which is always a good point. There was a seating area outside our room which some children from other rooms used as there own personal playroom but this is not the hotels fault but was a little annoying while trying to get kids to sleep. The bar staff were very friendly and accomodating and a nice bar food menu (something for everyone). The breakfast and reception staff were great and very accomodating to my Mum who finds it hard to walk. The location of this hotel is just brilliant - a very short stroll to the beach and amusements. The hotel has a seaside feel to it and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a family holiday. I would recommend asking for a sea view room they really brighten the rooms. If there rooms were a little updated I would give this hotel 10/10 but overall had a great family holiday and would hope to be back in the Majestic soon.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quigleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We attended a family wedding in The Majestic Hotel last saturday July 28th what a fantastic hotel this is. The staff are so so friendly and could not do more to make our stay a very happy and comfortable one. The meal at the wedding was beautiful & delicious, served in record time, hot and really lovely. We stayed the night and our room was lovely overlooking the sea, no noise very quiet and lovely and warm. Tea making facility in the room and everything you need for an overnight stay. Breakfast next morning was great served by a lovely friendly woman giving us all a full irish. This hotel is excellent value for money we will be back again.

Room Tip: Sea View is very nice but then all the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel186646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.2 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
196 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
6.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tramore
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: Majestic Hotel Lower Branch Road, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range: $139 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Majestic Hotel is located in the sunny south east of Ireland, overlooking Tramore Bay with its impressive 5km stretch of golden beach and sand dunes and is less than 10km from the historical city of Waterford. The hotel is the perfect location for your overnight or extended stay when visiting Waterford or touring the beautiful South East. Situated just a short stroll from the beach, the hotel is ideally situated for guests who wish to relax and spend their free time walking, surfing, swimming, sunbathing or just taking in the beautiful scenery of Tramore Bay, the beach and sand dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing