We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary, very pleasant stay, very friendly staff”
Review of O'Shea's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Shea's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mary, very pleasant stay, very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

just home after a five day trip with my husband and teenage daughter. We had initially booked for four nights but we were enjoying our stay and weather so much we booked an extra night. Family room had a double and single bed and was quite spacious. The first thing we noticed on entering the room was a clean, fresh smell. Towels were changed and room cleaned everyday. Rooms were warm as another review mentioned but then again it was 27 degrees some days so only to be expected.Breakfast was served from 8 to 11, it was cooked to order, really delicious and served by very friendly staff who, even tho rushed off their feet, always had time for a pleasant chat. We ate in the bar 4 out of the 5 nights, again staff were very pleasant and food delicious and value for money. The only negative thing i have to say was one of the bar men was not very friendly and did make us feel in the way, i did hear him mention to someone that he was just recovering from a bout of the flu so perhaps we caught him on an off day. overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary2013186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Owner at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good evening Mary, thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your 5 days holidays with us. I have passed on your compliments to our staff. I have spoken to that the man who apologies for not being in good form when he met you.
The weather is glorious in Tramore & we hope the sunny weather continues as it cheers everyone.
We look forward to your next visit.
Noreen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    28
    15
    32
See reviews for
68
62
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
clare ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

me and my wife stayed in this hotel - its was worst hotel we EVER STAYED in !!! rooms are small , , sticky carpet , hard beds , and just TERRIBLE ...window didnt open we had to use a clothes hanger to keep it open ... found when complained treated very rudely . , rooms are over a NIGHT CLUB and disco bar that goes on till at least 2 am and then there is the taxi office accross the road and all that goes on with after a night club , fighten , singing , roaring , etc etc from about 2.30am to 5am ...we didnt get a wink of sleep .. earlier in evening we found ourselves sitting in the bar and lets just say we quickly made our exit . this " hotel" has seperate building across the road which people staying are also put in . Overall it was the worst experince we have had in a hotel .. we both left the hotel so so tired and will never be returning .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Claire,
I know that this is your second time reviewing our hotel following your visit.
99% of our bedrooms have got wooden maple floors - so you must have been allocated one of the rooms with a carpet - but I would dispute with you that our carpets are dirty.
We are normally complimented for our King Koil beds, our beds are firm, but this is the first complaint that they were too hard.
We do not have a night club, so I cannot understand the comment that our beds were hard.
We do have a late night bar at weekends (this is noted on our web-site).
Our bedrooms are in 3 separate blocks this is also noted on our web-site.
There is a taxi office opposite the hotel & yes people do meet there to get taxis home late at night.
I did not like your comments about our customers in the bar, all our customers are nice , decent ,genuine people who return to us year after year.
Please let me know the number of the room you stayed in, so that i can investigate your complaint further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tramore hotels

Tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Three of us arrived to the hotel for a two night stay and we were very disappointed with our room, the smell of must in the room was unbearable. As it was very warm weather we thought the hotel would have some extra sheets to use instead of the duvets on the bed but there wasnt, needless to say we did not have a very good nights sleep, the window only opens a small amount, the room was very stuffy. We booked our two nights stay with two breakfasts and a "supposed" four course meal. The receptionist, who was not very friendly, informed us that we would not get our meal in the restaurant and instead be in the bar and anything over twenty euro would be charged to the room. Our "four course meal" included a bowl of soup each for starters and a main course, and the main course was nearly inedible. The starter and the main course cost the twenty euro we were each allowed so no dessert and tea or coffee for our four course meal. We were very disappointed with our stay and left after our first night. Although I have to mention that the lady who served us our breakfast was very friendly and helpful, perhaps the only good thing about our stay, but we will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseyt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear RosyT,
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are experiencing unusually warm weather, so all our bedrooms seem to be very warm at the moment - I cannot understand how your room had a musty smell as all our rooms are used every day & we have not had another complaint & on inspection we cannot get a musty smell.
We have got a limited amount of fans available from reception - did you ask for a fan. We have got hundreds of sheets in our hotel & of course you could have had sheets instead of duvets - that would not have been a problem.

Our Guest' s Dinner Menu is a 4 course menu with the following choices:-
Warm Bacon Caesar Salad
Golden Fried Mushrooms with Garlic Mayonnaise
Home- made Soup of the Day
Platter of Mussels with a Herb Crust
Egg Mayonnaise
***
Fried Fillet of Cod in Crispy Beer Batter
Grilled Rib Eye Steak & Onions
Madras Chicken Curry & Rice
Darne Of Salmon with Hollondaise Sauce
Roast Breast of Chicken & Ham
all served with Fresh Vegetables & Potatoes
****
Choice of Desserts
***
Tea or Coffee

Did you inform your served that you had a dinner voucher?
We tell our Guests that the voucher is worth €20.00 as sometimes people like to take smaller meals & use the voucher for 2 meals instead of one.

Once again we are sorry that you did not tell us personally that you were not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ate it last week Wednesday afternoon 26th June as a party of 3 adults and 4 kids. I didnt manage to get the servers name but she is a credit to the hotel and i hope this review is passed onto her. She greeted us with a warm and friendly hello, spoke direct to the children and was genuinely interested in what they wanted to tell her. Made excellent suggestions re food and the drinks.
We'll definitely be back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Owner at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Conhig,
thank you very much for your very nice review. I have passed om your compliments to Aoife.
Aoife has been employed by us for many years and she has got excellent people skills - but it is nice for her to be complimented for her good work.
We pride ourselves on serving good home cooked food and our new bar food menu caters for all ages & all tastes.
Once again "Thank You" and we hope to see you in our bar again before the end of this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited today and ordered a toasted sandwich and portion of side chips. Need magnifine glass to see side salad on plate, cheese in sandwich not even melted....cold. No care given to food being served. For the same money so many lovely places would put up the exact same meal with a little panache. Asked for glass of water: bar man plonked it on counter grudgingly and back turned immediately. Meal will fill you ...but if you like something a little nicer this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csavage10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having stayed here last year with my partner and another couple with there children I knew what to expect. Yes the hotel is a little dated but we really enjoyed our stay apart from the lady on reception how we found to be quite rude. The hotel is centrally located and we found all the other staff very friendly. However we returned here recently with two other couple and it was not the same experience. Firstly I stated I wanted 3 non smoking rooms mine however stank of stale smoke and had an ashtray in the room. Secondly we stayed in room 14 which we later found out was right over a late bar our bed may aswell have been in the nightclub the music was so loud and you could feel it thumping up through our room. When I rang to see how long this would continue I was told it would be on till one thirty. On complaining that we were not informed that a disco ran at night I was told that they had no rooms to change us to and that it was over soon and that was it. We were very disappointed we work in catering and work long hard hours and were really looking forward to a quite relaxing break however we came home more tired than when we left .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Owner at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good Morning Lashling,

I am very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us this year.
I do apologize for the noise from the late bar, but on that night I couldn't move you to an alternative room as all our rooms were occupied. It is noted on our web-site that you may experience noise from the bars at the weekends, but I also know that rest is paramount especially when you work hard.
Since your complaint last week we have now moved the dj box to an area where there are no bedrooms overhead.
We would love you to come back to our hotel, and if you do, please ask for a special discount
to make up for your experience you had on this visit.
We did allocate you non-smoking rooms and have had a discussion with our housekeepers about the ash tray in the room.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knocklong, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a day out with my partner and we decided that we wanted to stay so thankfully o'sheas took us in as we hadnt pre booked anything we had a ground floor room which is across the road but still part of the hotel itself room was all u really need was busy as the dog show was on the same weekend i think but the breakfast was perfect and brilliant portions this was included in the room price and i love a gud irish breakfast will definately come again hopefully when it is quieter as you can expect a bit of noise but thankfully we didnt bring our little fella

Room Tip: ground floor across from the main hotel is a bit loud if your not used of noise but breakfast makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddles666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Evening "Diddles", thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on serving good food and of course a good breakfast is the start of a good day we say.
The street side rooms in The Annex can be noisy at the weekends, so we advise our guests to book the back rooms in advance if you are a light sleeper.

Thank you once again & we look forward to seeing you in Tramore during the summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tramore
63 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
486 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
7.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Shea's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Hotel

Property: O'Shea's Hotel
Address: Strand Street | Tramore, Co. Waterford, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Shea's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Shea's Hotel by the sea in Tramore has been welcoming guests since 1968. Guests return time and time again for short breaks, business, horse racing, golfing, pony trekking, touring, walking holidays,beach holidays, family holidays, to play the slot machine in the many arcades or just to relax and unwind beside the sea.O'Shea's Hotel, is the ideal location for a relaxing break or an activity based holiday."There is very much a home from home atmosphere at O'Shea's Hotel, where you are assured of friendly & attentive service.This hotel is not your typical cloned international style, but old world charm, cosy warm rooms with modern comfort. We welcome dogs in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your O'Shea's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Tramore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing