We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went home early.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Shea's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Shea's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went home early.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Three of us arrived to the hotel for a two night stay and we were very disappointed with our room, the smell of must in the room was unbearable. As it was very warm weather we thought the hotel would have some extra sheets to use instead of the duvets on the bed but there wasnt, needless to say we did not have a very good nights sleep, the window only opens a small amount, the room was very stuffy. We booked our two nights stay with two breakfasts and a "supposed" four course meal. The receptionist, who was not very friendly, informed us that we would not get our meal in the restaurant and instead be in the bar and anything over twenty euro would be charged to the room. Our "four course meal" included a bowl of soup each for starters and a main course, and the main course was nearly inedible. The starter and the main course cost the twenty euro we were each allowed so no dessert and tea or coffee for our four course meal. We were very disappointed with our stay and left after our first night. Although I have to mention that the lady who served us our breakfast was very friendly and helpful, perhaps the only good thing about our stay, but we will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseyt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear RosyT,
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are experiencing unusually warm weather, so all our bedrooms seem to be very warm at the moment - I cannot understand how your room had a musty smell as all our rooms are used every day & we have not had another complaint & on inspection we cannot get a musty smell.
We have got a limited amount of fans available from reception - did you ask for a fan. We have got hundreds of sheets in our hotel & of course you could have had sheets instead of duvets - that would not have been a problem.

Our Guest' s Dinner Menu is a 4 course menu with the following choices:-
Warm Bacon Caesar Salad
Golden Fried Mushrooms with Garlic Mayonnaise
Home- made Soup of the Day
Platter of Mussels with a Herb Crust
Egg Mayonnaise
***
Fried Fillet of Cod in Crispy Beer Batter
Grilled Rib Eye Steak & Onions
Madras Chicken Curry & Rice
Darne Of Salmon with Hollondaise Sauce
Roast Breast of Chicken & Ham
all served with Fresh Vegetables & Potatoes
****
Choice of Desserts
***
Tea or Coffee

Did you inform your served that you had a dinner voucher?
We tell our Guests that the voucher is worth €20.00 as sometimes people like to take smaller meals & use the voucher for 2 meals instead of one.

Once again we are sorry that you did not tell us personally that you were not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    27
    15
    31
See reviews for
68
60
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ate it last week Wednesday afternoon 26th June as a party of 3 adults and 4 kids. I didnt manage to get the servers name but she is a credit to the hotel and i hope this review is passed onto her. She greeted us with a warm and friendly hello, spoke direct to the children and was genuinely interested in what they wanted to tell her. Made excellent suggestions re food and the drinks.
We'll definitely be back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Owner at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Conhig,
thank you very much for your very nice review. I have passed om your compliments to Aoife.
Aoife has been employed by us for many years and she has got excellent people skills - but it is nice for her to be complimented for her good work.
We pride ourselves on serving good home cooked food and our new bar food menu caters for all ages & all tastes.
Once again "Thank You" and we hope to see you in our bar again before the end of this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited today and ordered a toasted sandwich and portion of side chips. Need magnifine glass to see side salad on plate, cheese in sandwich not even melted....cold. No care given to food being served. For the same money so many lovely places would put up the exact same meal with a little panache. Asked for glass of water: bar man plonked it on counter grudgingly and back turned immediately. Meal will fill you ...but if you like something a little nicer this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csavage10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tramore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having stayed here last year with my partner and another couple with there children I knew what to expect. Yes the hotel is a little dated but we really enjoyed our stay apart from the lady on reception how we found to be quite rude. The hotel is centrally located and we found all the other staff very friendly. However we returned here recently with two other couple and it was not the same experience. Firstly I stated I wanted 3 non smoking rooms mine however stank of stale smoke and had an ashtray in the room. Secondly we stayed in room 14 which we later found out was right over a late bar our bed may aswell have been in the nightclub the music was so loud and you could feel it thumping up through our room. When I rang to see how long this would continue I was told it would be on till one thirty. On complaining that we were not informed that a disco ran at night I was told that they had no rooms to change us to and that it was over soon and that was it. We were very disappointed we work in catering and work long hard hours and were really looking forward to a quite relaxing break however we came home more tired than when we left .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Owner at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good Morning Lashling,

I am very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us this year.
I do apologize for the noise from the late bar, but on that night I couldn't move you to an alternative room as all our rooms were occupied. It is noted on our web-site that you may experience noise from the bars at the weekends, but I also know that rest is paramount especially when you work hard.
Since your complaint last week we have now moved the dj box to an area where there are no bedrooms overhead.
We would love you to come back to our hotel, and if you do, please ask for a special discount
to make up for your experience you had on this visit.
We did allocate you non-smoking rooms and have had a discussion with our housekeepers about the ash tray in the room.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knocklong, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a day out with my partner and we decided that we wanted to stay so thankfully o'sheas took us in as we hadnt pre booked anything we had a ground floor room which is across the road but still part of the hotel itself room was all u really need was busy as the dog show was on the same weekend i think but the breakfast was perfect and brilliant portions this was included in the room price and i love a gud irish breakfast will definately come again hopefully when it is quieter as you can expect a bit of noise but thankfully we didnt bring our little fella

Room Tip: ground floor across from the main hotel is a bit loud if your not used of noise but breakfast makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddles666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Evening "Diddles", thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on serving good food and of course a good breakfast is the start of a good day we say.
The street side rooms in The Annex can be noisy at the weekends, so we advise our guests to book the back rooms in advance if you are a light sleeper.

Thank you once again & we look forward to seeing you in Tramore during the summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tullamore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thought this was quite a charming little hotel, having just booked the night before online, we were more than pleasantly surprised. Two adults and two children travelled. Arrived to find that the money had not been deducted from our credit card, which has happened in other locations. Got our key fairly fast, and our room was located in the 'annexe' just across the road from the main hotel, which was great as late night music didn't keep us awake. An old-world family hotel, but with all necessary mod cons, in a contemporary atmosphere. My husband and I enjoyed a drink at the bar before bed, but an unwanted approach from an over-friendly and well-intoxicated gent was not really acceptable. Bar staff should try to avoid this occuring.
Breakfast was tasty, and the troops were happy. Right beside the sea, we could enjoy the sea air in our bedroom during the night. Perfect temperature, neither too hot nor cold.
Like I say, really enjoyed this place. lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasatecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'SheasHotel, Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Evening Sarasantecarmen, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you did choose a room at the back of the Annex - as it is much quieter for families or light sleepers.
I aoplogise for the "well-intoxicated gent" who disturbed your meal - I have asked the staff to ensure that this never happens to anothe customer.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went here for st patricks day with our two children. We had a combo mixed party platter & it was really nice. It was obvioulsy deep fried cause it was dripping with fat but it tasted great. The chips were lovely too. The staff were all friendly & helpful. The hotel is old but the atmosphere was great, everyone is friendly with no airs or graces!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eimeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tramore
60 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
7.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
7.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Shea's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Hotel

Property: O'Shea's Hotel
Address: Strand Street | Tramore, Co. Waterford, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Shea's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Shea's Hotel by the sea in Tramore has been welcoming guests since 1968. Guests return time and time again for short breaks, business, horse racing, golfing, pony trekking, touring, walking holidays,beach holidays, family holidays, to play the slot machine in the many arcades or just to relax and unwind beside the sea.O'Shea's Hotel, is the ideal location for a relaxing break or an activity based holiday."There is very much a home from home atmosphere at O'Shea's Hotel, where you are assured of friendly & attentive service.This hotel is not your typical cloned international style, but old world charm, cosy warm rooms with modern comfort. We welcome dogs in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your O'Shea's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Tramore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing