We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Day Out”

Freedom Surf School & Adventure
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Tramore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Official Billabong Surf School with over 35 years of experience .Guaranteed fun and success.Enjoy our Beach Cottage facility and other activities,Surfing, Landyachting, Bodyboarding,Nordic Walking,Team Challanges,Ecology Hikes.Equipment Hire.Located in an authentic Irish Setting surrounded by cottages just a stones throw from the beach.Facilities include ,indoor lecture room,Male & Female changing rooms,Hot Showers, Kitchen Coffee Doc - indoor & outoor eating areas .Irish Language Surfing Experience for International visitors to Ireland .Irish Language Activity Programmes. Approved by The Irish Surfing Association & Failte Ireland.Sponsored by Billabong.Open All Year.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Family Day Out”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a lovely morning with a family surf lesson, two adults and two children. The instructor Jacob was great, the kids learned lots and we all had a brilliant time.
The children said it was the best thing about their week in Waterford.
We plan to go back in a few weeks to become pros!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jannnnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic family experience. Super staff.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found all the staff to be so helpful, genuine and made our visit to Tramore one we will never forget. It's our new family hobby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mammymulhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place to Surf”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you want to learn to surf in Tramore, then I reccommend this place. Jacob was our instructor and he informative and you could tell that he loved his job as his passion came through when he was talking about surfing. Billy (the owner) was friendly and very helpful. This is the place to surf!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4FunDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyButler, Owner at Freedom Surf School & Adventure, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hey Guys, Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your lesson and we look forward to seeing you again. Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun surfing as a family with Freedom Surf School”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try surfing as a family for fun and to do it trí gaeilge to support our children who attend a Gaelscoil. It was lovely to use and hear Irish in a natural, fun environment. We had such craic surfing! Needless to say the kids were way better than us but we loved it too. Freedom's equipment was top class so we were warm in our Winter wetsuits on a cool, breezy day in May. Jacob was our instructor and he was so patient and enjoyed a laugh. We will definitely be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TotsandTeensonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyButler, Owner at Freedom Surf School & Adventure, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your visit to Freedom, Surfing through Irish is a great way to have fun and use the Irish language at the same time. Beimid ag caint arís
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Good Service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went to Tramore with the surf club of the university, had good fun with Freedom Surf School. Good equipment. Thanks to wetsuit, gloves, boots and something for the head we could deal with the cold november weather. Very friendly staff! Instructors were nice but not too enthusiastic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlcaZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Surf School & Adventure also viewed

Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 

Been to Freedom Surf School & Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing