We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family hotel .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are just back from a lovely weekend at the Quality Hotel in Youghal. The weather was fantastic and this played a big part in us enjoying our stay even more. Redbarn beach is located right beside the hotel which a huge bonus point for the hotel, you literally walk out the door of the Coast bar ,down the steps and your feet hit the sand!!

Our apartment was a little dated (tired) but very spacious with 2 bedrooms , one en-suite and the other with a full bathroom next door.The kids bedroom even had a telly and dvd player which the kids loved when they woke early in the morning! The kitchen had everything you could need for self catering. We slept very well in our room, the bed was extremely comfortable.We had a balcony to sit out on at night with a glass of wine which was nice.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay.The only thing to disappoint us was when we had breakfast in Lannigans bar and to be honest i wouldn't recommend it, none of us enjoyed it and left a little hungry.

The leisure centre is very good. The swimming pool was a great hit with us all, we went twice a day for over an hour a time and had great fun. There is a small playground suited to toddlers, 2 outdoor soccer areas, a kids club, kids cinema, a kids disco , so loads to do and no time to be bored!

We will definitely be back and will recommend our friends and family do the same :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review, the weather certainly helps in our location. I am glad that you enjoyed your break and that you found the accommodation comfortable and the leisure centre good, pity about your breakfast experience however. Anyway I am glad to hear you would recommend our hotel and that you will be back. Regards Allen Mc Enery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 890 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

i have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel, we stayed in one of the holiday homes, which was amazing, 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms :) full kitchen and comfy sitting room, my 4 yr old son who has autism was with us and he doesnt like doors been closed, the staff at the hotel had no problem opening the 4th bedroom in the house,which comes with and extra charge,and they didnt even charge us for it, the staff were lovely,when we got into the house there was no cot for my two yr old,i rang up to the hotel and there was somebody down within 5 mins with a cot and a high chair,the staff cannot do enough for you,i put my kids into the creche one day for and hour,the girl sinead that was working there was just brillant,when i explained my son had autism she reasured me he was in good hands and she would give him as much of a one to one as possible,they both had a great time an stayed an extra hour,then the next night sinead took him to the cinema with the kids club and looked after him..she made our holiday,i have never been to a hotel that were so understanding of autism, everything was perfect,the food was lovely,there was something on everynight,and the pool was great for the kids also they have a lovely little playground, i cannot wait to go back to this hotel again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAAmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

There is only one person more pleased than myslef with your review and that is Sinead, thank you for your gracious review and for being so complimentary about our staff, we do try to go that little bit extra if we can and it is nice for it to be acknowledged. Thank you and we look forward to having you back again. Regards Allen Mc Enery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

recently returned from staying at this hotel and found the whole experience awful. we did not get the room which i was under the impression i had booked. we ended up in an apartment. it was awful ! the smell of damp stale water when you entered was disgusting. the rooms looked clean at a quick glance however as time went on you realised they were anything but clean. bun wrappers behind the bin, i had to clean the bulb in the bedside light to read it was that dirty !( they weren't even a matching pair ) your fingers stuck on the grease on the plug sockets in the kitchen and there's at least an inch of dust and dirt on the door frames and the trims in the bathroom and the lights. the bed in the double room is only fit to be burned when i booked the room i was told that an extra bed for the 3 yr old was no problem to find that the BED was a mattress on the floor!!they dont have extra beds for the apartment. when i asked about this we were offered to move to a house if 1 was available .this i declined as i didnt hold out much hope of them being any better than the apartment. we ate in the restaurant 3 nights and found the food to be ok. nothing special but edible. breakfast was good. staff were good and pleasent

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theholidaygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We pride oursleves on our property upkeep and attention to detail but clearly we were not up to standard on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have followed up on your comments where appropriate with my team and we will use it to better our offering. I do have a couple of points I would like to mention, the first is the extra bed, there is no room for an extra bed and that is why we offer a camp bed, for families that require beds for more that four people we recommend the holiday homes. The beds themselves are new this season and are the proper commercial orthopedic matress on a standard 4ft 6in divan. Thank you for bringing these issue's to our attention. Regards Allen McEnery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here 10 th aug for a week with my wife and three kids,booked a four bed house onsite the house was cleanish but did notice a lot of dust on blinds and the curtains have seen better days but was acceptable considering they turn them around in less than an hour !! Kids enjoyed the pool even though it was overcrowded at times staff were pleasant enough, beach was filthy rubbish everywhere, bar was tired and filthy also carpet hasn't been changed in years, beer was rotten as was the food and overpriced. Overall good base to explore cork with Fota ,Cobh, and clonakilty nearby but house overpriced and will not be returning !! Save your money!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Abbi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you were happy with the standard of your accommodation except for the high level dusting. It is not always possible to get this dusting done in July & August as we have tight deadlines with guests checking in but we will certainly review this. We do pride ourlseves however on the general presentation of our accommodation. The pool can be busy at certain times of the day but we do monitor the numbers and close it off as necessary. It is quite a large pool so it has god capacity. I am sorry you did not find the food or the beer to the required standard and that you felt the carpet was not well presented. This is a new carpet and we clean it monthly but it can still appear dirty primarily due to the level of traffic and the location, right on the beach with people coming in in their bare feet with sand etc. Regarding the price I cannot comment as I do not know how much you paid, but I do hope it was the price that you were quoted when you booked. Regards Allen Mc Enery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel was advertised as being a 1 mile walk from Youghal by beach. However, the road distance is closer to 5 miles. Expect €10 each way in taxi from the hotel to the town. Staff were very friendly although we couldn't check in until 4.15pm! We ate once in the bar but it was over priced & the menu was mostly suited to children. In fact the whole hotel is mostly suited to children/ families. The spa was more of a leisure centre & even in there you can't get quiet time or privacy as the 'relaxation suite' has a large glass window which over looks the kids pool. The massage was gorgeous though, despite the noise coming from the pool area. The bedrooms could do with some updating in decor. TV was from the early 90's & no wifi in our room. But the beds were very comfortable. Would definitely recommend for families only but not really suitable for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciara_brock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your review, yes we are a bit out of town but this is a positive for most of our guests as it makes it safer & more private as we are at the end of the road right out on the beach. Our own webiste gives the correct distance to the town. For the summer months our business is home holiday leisure and families find our location & facilities great. Glad you found the accommodation good and comfortable and that you had a relaxing massage.The quality of the broadband available to us is not great so the wifi is only availabe in the lobby, bar and deck area of the hotel. The hotel is popular in the off season for hiking, surfing and activities in general so hopefully you will try us again. Regards Allen Mc Enery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms were spacious and clean. The leisure centre was busy and fun. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative i can say, it's not exactly a romantic spot, the hotel was full of children who seemed to having a ball. Plenty for them to do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review and glad all was to a good standard. We are firmly in the home holiday leisure market for July & August however this changes in the off season and we have a good mix of business including those looking for a romantic break. Regrds Allen Mc Enery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A large group of us (4 Mothers and 10 kids) stayed here in two of the onsite houses for 4 nights. The houses were great, roomy and very clean. Staff came by each day to offer fresh towels, empty bins and hoover for us if we wished. The location of the houses was fantastic as they were around a central green area where the kids could (and did!) go wild playing in a safe place where we could see them. Proximity to the beach was fantastic and the added advantage of the pool area really made the holiday. The hotel itself was nice, the staff were helpful but I would have to say the food prices are a little excessive. Bearing in mind that this is a family spot prices could be a little more competitive. We ate in the bar once but then remained firmly eating in the house!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am glad you had an enjoyable break with us and you found the holiday homes were presented well. At the end of each season we reivew the operation and your feedback will be considered, including the price and selection of food available. We hope to be able to pass on some savings in this regard. Thanks again and hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Allen Mc Enery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.9 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
345 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
381 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
763 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,722 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: $93 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing